Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Very good although I'm new to this site and didn't know that you could adjust the serving size. I made this for me and my wife last night and it made a LOT of salad before I realized it was 8 servings. Otherwise, very filling and doesn't leave you feeling "fat". I had 2 helpings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
What I like about thie recipe is that all of the basic foundations are here to make a really great taco salad! How I changed it though, is that instead of using iceberg lettuce, I used romaine, though I think people should use the lettuce that they personally enjoy. Also, I substituted ground beef for ground turkey (again a personal preference). I didn't want my salad to be too 'oniony' so, I opted to leave out the red onion and used only the green onion. I didn't want my salad to be too 'beany' either, so instead of using both the kidney and pinto beans, I used only the kidney beans--though on second thought, maybe using black beans would be nice too. Also, I don't like the idea of combining all of the ingredients together. So, instead, I layered everything like a GIANT tostada. First with the layer of lettuce, then the meat, next the cheese, and then the beans, tomatoes, black olives (I decided to add this too) and then lastly the green onions. I topped the whole thing off with a LARGE dollop of sour cream and for the dressing, I drizzled on some Ortega brand taco sauce. (To me, the Catalina dressing somehow misses the mark in that in kinda detracts from the 'taco' taste of the salad.) Though all in all, this is quite an excellent recipe!!! Thanks so much for posting this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsBob1
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was pretty good. I should have added in more tomatoes though. My fault, not the recipe's fault! A good and quick dinner! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBob1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I serve this at the firehouse and it is always a treat that can be prepared quickly for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
There is a taco seasoning 1 recipe on this site that is great. All the things you normally alredy have in yor pantry. Great because you can control the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was so good and really hit the spot tonight; not to mention that it took practically no time to prepare. I used ground turkey and made my own taco seasoning so I could control the salt. Instead of mixing everything all together, I placed the salad around individual plates and put the meat mixture in the center. Can't wait for lunch tomorrow! Thanks so much Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was great! I wanted to make it a healthier choice, so I use fat free Catalina, and 2% cheese. I also left out the onions and avacado. I didn't mix it all together and the next day use the meat and bean mixture for nachos. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Bear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I made this at home 1st before making it for a pot luck just to be on the safe side since it was a new recipe. It was amazing! I substituted ground turkey and added frozen corn to the meat when you add the seasoning. This was so good I made it three times that week and can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as written with the exception of eliminating the avocado. I was hesitant that it would discolor. Everyone really enjoy the salad, but it does taste better served the next day. The flavors meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I have not personally made this specific recipe but I have made something that is very similar to it! I use Dorthy Lynch dressing instead of the Catalina dressing and it gives it AWESOME flavor. My husband LOVES it!!!! So if you are wanting something that isn't really sweet, try the other dressing you wont be mad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUBBLES5887

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pawnee Rock, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States