Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
Wonderful Salad-A-1!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
This is by far the best Mexican-influenced salad I've ever found. It is better on day 2! Don't add chips, though, if you plan to eat it more than one day. Chips become soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
I was looking for a summer salad to use as a meal (with a good healthy balance). This was WONDERFUL! I used light cheese and only an 8 oz bottle of Catalina. Yum! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This salad was excellent! I didn't add any beans but everyone who ate it thought it was wonderful!! I've already given out the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This is the first "allrecipe.com" recipe I didn't give 5 stars. I thought it was terrible, and everyone thought it was too sweet..just not a good combo of ingredients. It tasted far better without any dressing and without the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I served this at a tex mex party and everyone loved it. I left out the meat though, because I was serving it with enchiladas and tacos. Make just what you need, as it doesn't last for the next day. I had everything cut up seperate and did a quick mixing just before serving. I used the chips as a bedding on the bottom of a large bowl and put a few chips on top for garnishing. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
VERY good. I used too much dressing, so it was a little soggy. Flavor was great. Don't count on leftovers, does not keep well (what salad does). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Brought this to a large gathering. Usually, taco salad is taco salad, but I kept hearing comments about this one even from people who didn't know I had made it! I left out the onions, red because they are too strong for many people, and green because I simply forgot although they would have been good. Where I come from, Dorothy Lynch is the ONLY dressing that goes in taco salad, try it instead of Catalina. I used fat free Dorothy Lynch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I debated on reviewing this recipe, because of the changes I made. I used chicken because I didn't have ground beef. I used plain white onion because it's what I had. I thought the salad was very good; maybe a bit too many beans, and I did miss the traditional green pepper. Overall tho, very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Excellent recipe... been using one very much the same since my grandmother brought it back from southern Ca. in the 80's.... try using a little less catalina and mix some sour cream and taco sauce with the dressing you do use for a delightfully different tasting dressing. Sometimes I add 2 pkgs of taco seasoning to the meat, unless of course, you are watching salt intake. Thanks for sharing a great recipe Melanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States