Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
My husband got me started on the search for this recipe and I am sooo glad I found it. I LOVE this salad. I serve it up separate due to picky eaters and then add the dressing (it doesn't take much) and Frito's on top. My family loves tacos, so this is a little variation we throw in to mix it up. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I left out the dressing, because I did not want my left-overs to be soggy. Still, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meaghan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Benson, Vermont, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made this and put it in taco shells that I baked in the oven.. I used refried beans for convenience and my own chipotle dressing since I don't use bottled!.. So good with cilantro, cheese, olives, salsa, green onions! I didn't put the chips in, but served them on the side!.. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I used a double batch of Bill Echol's taco seasoning, only cut back on the salt and heat because I'm feeding little mouths. I did cook the onion and pepper together with minced garlic, then added it to the beef mixture. I used shredded cabbage, as it's healthier than iceberg and I served it with corn chips, homemade salsa and sour cream. Very good. One of our favorite comfort meals made better with homemade products and healthier ingredients. EDITED: After trying the meat mixture, I did add a tbsp. of brown sugar and a tbsp. of fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My boyfriend & I loved this. I used ground turkey instead & fried up my own corn tortilla strips for that extra crunch. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Carson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very tasty. I left out the avacado and used French dressing instead of Catalina. I don't add the lettuce or corn chips directly to the salad because they get too soggy for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Good salad. I skipped the pinto beans and avacado. Plus instead of chips I deep fried (using a tin can to shape) a few soft taco shells to make edible bowls. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I used veggie crumbles instead of hamburger and skipped the beans. I prepped the "meat" right before assembling the salad and tossed it in while still warm on top of the lettuce, tomatoes & avocado. I sprinkled the cheese on top of that, then the crushed chips and then tossed it all together. For dressing we served salsa and sour cream on the side and everyone got to dress their own salad as per their taste. It was a bit hit, even with my fussy kids & husband, and the leftovers tasted good the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
made this for a family party of 21. added black olives to the recipe, it was delicious! i felt (as did most others that i ate it with) that you didnt need any dressing, the juice from the meat was good enough! im adding this to my go to easy recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was really good! I read a review about using 2 packets of taco seasoning, tried it, bad idea. The meat was way too salty! The salad mixture itself was delicious. Next time I will use only the green onions and I am going to use ranch instead of the catalina. Other reviewers have great add-in ideas (black beans, corn, black olives) which I can't wait to try. I am so glad I found this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States