Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Super dellish. The kids enjoyed the cruch of the chips in the salad. I used ranch dressing this time, but will look for the Catalina next time. Both are a refreshing change from regular salsa and sour cream. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is another dish I made for my sisters Baby shower and it was super easy to make and I just love avocado's so I added some to this recipe and I also added a can of corn. Everyone loved this dish and I just loved how easy and simple it was to make! I just found another favorite dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.kiki 99 :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Loved this salad! I mixed kidney beans in with my meat then mixed the meat mixture with the avocado, cheese, and tomatoes and put this on a bed of lettuce with the chips and dressing on top. This allowed for the meat mixture to be saved for leftovers without getting soggy. I'm making this again for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I was a little sceptic because we never eat Catalina dressing, however this was great! quick & easy to make! I left out all the onions. I also didn't add the dressing until I made each salad, that way I could add ranch dressing to the kids salads. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I made my own taco seasoning from AR and added my onions to the beef. I also made my own dressing, 1/2 cup of salsa and 1/4 of ranch. It was enough for two large salads. I've made single serving with 3 tablespoon salsa and 1 tablespoon ranch. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
My family serves this salad as a 'build your own' so we can make it just the way we like it. We also use Russian instead of Catalina. A favorite for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I've been making this recipe for years, it's great for all seasons! What I do differently...if you're concerned about sodium skip the packaged taco seasoning and add your own blend of spices. You may also substitute low/no fat Catalina dressing. I do not mix the meat and beans with the salad rather I add the dressing and chips to the salad (toss) and then top with the meat mixture. If you want left-overs skip mixing dressing and chips and do so individually. That way the lettuce doesn't become soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is a great salad! I've made it for years and everyone loves it. Awhile ago, I served the taco salad as an entree, accompanied by macaroni and cheese as a side dish. There's something about this combo--cold salad/warm mac & cheese, sweetness (the Catalina dressing) and crunchiness/creamy cheesiness--double yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Taco Salad III Haiku: "Deceiving salad. Healthy? No, but tasty? Yes! (Separate, to save.)" OK, so I changed a few small things, but I'd stress not mixing everything together, so that if you have leftovers, they won't soggify. My only changes, due to what I had, were to use black beans, romaine lettuce, and spicy-nacho doritos, as well as tossing in a handful of corn. Mmm I love how I trick myself into thinking "salad for dinner! No guilt!", but end up devouring a mountain of this, b/c it's just so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I don't use the Catalina dressing. I mix 8 ounces of sour cream with 8 ounces of taco sauce and mix it well into the remaining ingredients. Haven't had a complaint yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States