Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
Wonderful Salad-A-1!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
I was looking for a summer salad to use as a meal (with a good healthy balance). This was WONDERFUL! I used light cheese and only an 8 oz bottle of Catalina. Yum! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This salad was excellent! I didn't add any beans but everyone who ate it thought it was wonderful!! I've already given out the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
This is by far the best Mexican-influenced salad I've ever found. It is better on day 2! Don't add chips, though, if you plan to eat it more than one day. Chips become soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
VERY good. I used too much dressing, so it was a little soggy. Flavor was great. Don't count on leftovers, does not keep well (what salad does). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Brought this to a large gathering. Usually, taco salad is taco salad, but I kept hearing comments about this one even from people who didn't know I had made it! I left out the onions, red because they are too strong for many people, and green because I simply forgot although they would have been good. Where I come from, Dorothy Lynch is the ONLY dressing that goes in taco salad, try it instead of Catalina. I used fat free Dorothy Lynch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Excellent recipe... been using one very much the same since my grandmother brought it back from southern Ca. in the 80's.... try using a little less catalina and mix some sour cream and taco sauce with the dressing you do use for a delightfully different tasting dressing. Sometimes I add 2 pkgs of taco seasoning to the meat, unless of course, you are watching salt intake. Thanks for sharing a great recipe Melanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
very good we used sour cream and salsa instead of the dressing, this is a great recipe and we will have this many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This has been a staple in our house for years. I don't change the ingredients, just make it more figure friendly. The Kraft "Light Done Right" Catalina dressing is great and has less fat/calories. The leanest ground beef and using romaine/iceberg mix helps too! I also substitute Baked Doritos for the corn chips. Very hearty & satisfying salad...Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This has been a favorite of mine since childhood. To add extra kick you can substitute doritos for the plain corn chips. Also, french dressing will work if you don't have Catalina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States