Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This has been passed through our family for years. A great recipe! Some suggestions would be to serve it on top of lettuce, instead of mixing it in. That way you can keep it for leftovers. Also, mix the dressing with the meat, beans, tomatoes and cheese first, then add the chips on top and lettuce on bottom. You can do without one of the onions, and one of the beans, kidney beans work best. A great dip for chips as a snack/appetizer, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This has been a staple in our house for years. I don't change the ingredients, just make it more figure friendly. The Kraft "Light Done Right" Catalina dressing is great and has less fat/calories. The leanest ground beef and using romaine/iceberg mix helps too! I also substitute Baked Doritos for the corn chips. Very hearty & satisfying salad...Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I served this at a tex mex party and everyone loved it. I left out the meat though, because I was serving it with enchiladas and tacos. Make just what you need, as it doesn't last for the next day. I had everything cut up seperate and did a quick mixing just before serving. I used the chips as a bedding on the bottom of a large bowl and put a few chips on top for garnishing. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Perfect for lunch! I used some left over chili I had on hand vs. ground beef and canned beans. I layered everything over the lettuce and added tortilla chips vs. corn chips and topped it with a bit of sour cream and "Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Excellent recipe... been using one very much the same since my grandmother brought it back from southern Ca. in the 80's.... try using a little less catalina and mix some sour cream and taco sauce with the dressing you do use for a delightfully different tasting dressing. Sometimes I add 2 pkgs of taco seasoning to the meat, unless of course, you are watching salt intake. Thanks for sharing a great recipe Melanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
This is by far the best Mexican-influenced salad I've ever found. It is better on day 2! Don't add chips, though, if you plan to eat it more than one day. Chips become soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This is the first "allrecipe.com" recipe I didn't give 5 stars. I thought it was terrible, and everyone thought it was too sweet..just not a good combo of ingredients. It tasted far better without any dressing and without the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This salad was excellent! I didn't add any beans but everyone who ate it thought it was wonderful!! I've already given out the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
I was looking for a summer salad to use as a meal (with a good healthy balance). This was WONDERFUL! I used light cheese and only an 8 oz bottle of Catalina. Yum! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
VERY good. I used too much dressing, so it was a little soggy. Flavor was great. Don't count on leftovers, does not keep well (what salad does). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States