Taco Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I used a double batch of Bill Echol's taco seasoning, only cut back on the salt and heat because I'm feeding little mouths. I did cook the onion and pepper together with minced garlic, then added it to the beef mixture. I used shredded cabbage, as it's healthier than iceberg and I served it with corn chips, homemade salsa and sour cream. Very good. One of our favorite comfort meals made better with homemade products and healthier ingredients. EDITED: After trying the meat mixture, I did add a tbsp. of brown sugar and a tbsp. of fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My boyfriend & I loved this. I used ground turkey instead & fried up my own corn tortilla strips for that extra crunch. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very tasty. I left out the avacado and used French dressing instead of Catalina. I don't add the lettuce or corn chips directly to the salad because they get too soggy for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Good salad. I skipped the pinto beans and avacado. Plus instead of chips I deep fried (using a tin can to shape) a few soft taco shells to make edible bowls. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I used veggie crumbles instead of hamburger and skipped the beans. I prepped the "meat" right before assembling the salad and tossed it in while still warm on top of the lettuce, tomatoes & avocado. I sprinkled the cheese on top of that, then the crushed chips and then tossed it all together. For dressing we served salsa and sour cream on the side and everyone got to dress their own salad as per their taste. It was a bit hit, even with my fussy kids & husband, and the leftovers tasted good the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
made this for a family party of 21. added black olives to the recipe, it was delicious! i felt (as did most others that i ate it with) that you didnt need any dressing, the juice from the meat was good enough! im adding this to my go to easy recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was really good! I read a review about using 2 packets of taco seasoning, tried it, bad idea. The meat was way too salty! The salad mixture itself was delicious. Next time I will use only the green onions and I am going to use ranch instead of the catalina. Other reviewers have great add-in ideas (black beans, corn, black olives) which I can't wait to try. I am so glad I found this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I liked this recipe a lot. It really satisfied my craving. I changed a few things, didn't add so much onion, I made Pico de Gallo instead and used that. I also cooked my own kidney beans and just used those. I added some sour cream and Mission chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Very good although I'm new to this site and didn't know that you could adjust the serving size. I made this for me and my wife last night and it made a LOT of salad before I realized it was 8 servings. Otherwise, very filling and doesn't leave you feeling "fat". I had 2 helpings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
What I like about thie recipe is that all of the basic foundations are here to make a really great taco salad! How I changed it though, is that instead of using iceberg lettuce, I used romaine, though I think people should use the lettuce that they personally enjoy. Also, I substituted ground beef for ground turkey (again a personal preference). I didn't want my salad to be too 'oniony' so, I opted to leave out the red onion and used only the green onion. I didn't want my salad to be too 'beany' either, so instead of using both the kidney and pinto beans, I used only the kidney beans--though on second thought, maybe using black beans would be nice too. Also, I don't like the idea of combining all of the ingredients together. So, instead, I layered everything like a GIANT tostada. First with the layer of lettuce, then the meat, next the cheese, and then the beans, tomatoes, black olives (I decided to add this too) and then lastly the green onions. I topped the whole thing off with a LARGE dollop of sour cream and for the dressing, I drizzled on some Ortega brand taco sauce. (To me, the Catalina dressing somehow misses the mark in that in kinda detracts from the 'taco' taste of the salad.) Though all in all, this is quite an excellent recipe!!! Thanks so much for posting this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States