Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This was good, everyone ate full portions and said that they would be happy with it again. Not enough to cause great excitement so I will give it four stars. I did wait and add the chips (Taco Dorito's) when I was serving and have to agree that is the way it needs to be done. All in all would be good once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
My version is very close and has been a family favorite for years. Never refrigerate overnight , too soggy. I use cheese flavored Dorritos and add them last. I also add 1 can chopped black olives and 1 can red kidney beans (rinse), very good. Great dish for potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I used chicken instead of beef which worked great. Definatley did what others said, dont make it the night before, save the tortilla chips till you serve, and it tastes the best slightly warmed. It was Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Terrific taco salad! Like others i added chips before serving. I ate right away and did not let this sit overnight. I used Aunt Betty's French Dressing recipe i found on here. Terrific stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This recipe is a good one. The only thing that we did differant, was to put the chips in the bowls just before we ate the salad. That way the chips where still crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This salad was a total hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I definitely agree with LORIMAZ on the overnight refrigeration issue; unless of course you enjoy soggy salad. We like ours crisp, so I saw no need to prepare ahead of time. I did add more seasonings and onion to the beef mixture and the meal was a hit. Good recipe Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Very good recipe! I added extra onions to the beef as it browned, as my family loves onions, and left it warm, since there was no need to let cool or to let the salad sit overnight. And instead of French dressing, I mixed Ranch dressing with a bit of taco sauce, and it worked out even better. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
This was pretty good. It think it needed a little more taco seasoning and/or chili powder to give it some "zing". I used Doritos instead of plain taco chips. Definitely Do Not put in the chips until you are ready to serve, they will just get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
This is a great salad. I agree with another reviewer that you shouldn't let the chips sit in this salad overnight. We ate ours immediately and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States