Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Excellent salad--the dressing really makes it tasty. I used Fat Free Catalina and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Delicious! I agree with others that you don't want to refrigerate this salad over night, as the lettuce and chips will obviously become soggy. I did, however, prepare the items separately the night before and simply threw them together the following evening for a quick dinner. I also made my own dressing. The only comment my husband made was to cut down a bit on the onion and peppers and to add a can of kidney beans. It's really worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This was yummy:) Added chips right as it was being served. Made homemade french dressing to use in recipe, which turned out great too! Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I have also been making this recipe for a few years now, but I prefer to use the Catalina dressing. And refrigerate overnight?? That had to be a misprint. Soggy lettuce, soggy cheese, soggy chips... gross. I assemble it all, and add the dressing shortly before serving, and put the cheese on last. This is an excellent dish to serve with quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This is very, very good. I use the bagged lettuce. I do not know what the refrigerate overnight business is about. Why would anyone want soggy tortilla chips on purpose? This is easily customizable. I use Catalina dressing. Very fun recipe for us to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was an excellent recipe. I substituted turkey burger, fat free cheese, low fat dressing, and baked tortilla chips. It was amazing. My husband and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was very good. We didn't use any dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federalsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This is a perfect use for left-over taco meat. We served this over shredded lettuce minus the green pepper and rather than mixing it up, we made sort of an assembly line, everyone adding what they like. Also, a dressing of equal amounts of picante sauce and ranch dressing is fabulous on this salad. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This salad is just what I was craving! I took the advice of others and added 1 avocado & 1 can drained kidney beans. I used Nacho cheese Doritos instead of the plain ones. Too much onion - I used 1/2 onion istead. And most importantly - SERVE IT IMMEDIATELY. The chips and lettuce get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I have also been making this for years, and I would have to agree with a previous review, that this salad tastes best with Western Salad Dressing (not quite the whole bottle) and Taco flavored Doritos. I also prepare just before serving. I always add a can of chili beans undrained and chopped avocado and sliced black olives. I don't put the chips in until the last second. This gets soggy quickly. Sometimes I omit the meat and nobody notices. Sometimes I add chopped green onion instead. Whew, this is sounding like a whole other recipe! But, it's really just versatile. Anyway, this is ALWAYS the first to go at potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States