Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Very good. Instead of French Dressing, I did use Catalina. I also cooked the onions in with the meat because I don't like raw onions. I also used Nacho Doritos instead of just plain tortilla chips. :) Don't add dressing, chips, and lettuce until you're ready to eat, they tend to get soggy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
mmmm I loved this just the way it was, even though I normally don't care for French dressing. I tried a little in the salad and was pleasantly surprised. Don't mix ahead of time...the best part of the salad is the 'CrUnCh' from the tortilla chips-so why you would want soggy lettuce and chips (from sitting overnight) is perplexng to me...and many other reviewers. Nonetheless, this salad is A+ :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Took it to a gals night potluck and everyone loved it. I made a few changes to lighten it up a bit: 2 c. of reduced fat shredded cheese, light catalina dressing and extra lean ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I kept all the ingredients separate until right before eating. I ommitted the green pepper and onion and used Catalina dressing and Doritos. It was really tasty. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Very very tasty! I've made this for many occasions and people often request it if I'm going to a party or potluck. I am a big fan of red, orange, and yellow bell peppers instead of green so I usually use one of these instead of the green, and following suggestions from other reviewers, I add avacado and some sort of flavored Doritos (Nacho Cheese, Salsa, etc). I don't add the lettuce until serving. I personally don't like this as a leftover (the lettuce gets too soggy in my opinion), but there usually aren't any leftovers anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIEFMARKEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Absolutely Delicious and super easy! I was trying to duplicate a recipe I had a party and ended up using parts of both Taco Salad I and Taco Salad II recipes off this site with great results! The great thing about this recipe is that you can add or subtract “toppings” to your personal taste and still come out with wonderful results. To this recipe I added 1 can of chili beans to the beef along with the taco seasoning, served the onion and green pepper on the side, used only 2 cups of cheddar, a couple of handfuls of crushed Doritos and enough Catalina dressing to coat (probably about half a bottle). DO NOT LET SIT OVERNIGHT, serve immediately after adding dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I have been making this recipe for years. It is always a crowd favorite, and I usually never walk away with any leftovers. I always use crushed doritos though, and pending on the size of the crowd, I will usually double recipe. I also use Catalina dressing instead of French, use sharp cheddar cheese, don't use peppers, and I also put in sliced black olives. Always remember, if you are bringingthis to a function, don't put the dressing on until right before you serve, or it will be a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is a great recipe, my family has done this since I was a little kid, but my mom liked to use Dorito's, then skipping taco seasoning, and that is just delicious!! Should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelican Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
took this to a carry in at work 10 people wanted the recipe it was awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This is one of my favorite salad recipes. I don't make it the night before however. I also add avacado, black olives and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Joshua Tree, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States