Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This Taco Salad is GREAT! I have a friend that was known for her taco salad and she told me the secret was catalina salad dressing so I came looking for a recipe. I know the salad dressing sounds really weird, but trust me it's awesome! I gave this only 4 stars because I changed it just a bit by using catalina french dressing instead of regular french and instead of the tortilla chips I've used fritos and also cool ranch doritos. I liked the Fritos best because it gave it a nice corn flavor, more like a taco shell. Regular tortilla chips are just too mild of a flavor for a taco salad in my opinion. I also like to add black beans and sometimes corn into the mix too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
this was an awesome salad! I love how the dressing gave it a different taste and it was quick to make too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I left out of all the onions and the peppers and it still turned out great! I mixed the salad, tomatoes, and cheese and refridgerated. I added the meat when it was ready to be eaten. Great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mochasweetie86

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is a great start/base recipe for taco salad. I followed this for the most part, and added the new "taco" flavored Doritoes vs the suggested chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Very good recipe. I made a little change and it was a hit! Instead of Tortilla chips I used Nacho Dorito's and Catalina dressing. SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I admit I changed this up a bit. I cooked the bell peppers with the meat. I also took the suggestion of some other viewers and baked 10in flour tortillas in a corning wear pot in the oven until browned. I also skipped out on the dressing and we just used salsa, guacamole, and sour cream. I also did not refrig over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I served the ingredients individually and let people make their own. I finally mastered getting my ground beef to a fine texture using a potato masher to break it down while it cooked. I didn't refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Love this salad, it is quick, easy and versatile. I opted to make individual salad plates and layered the ingredients rather than mixing together. I wouldn't recommend refrigerating overnight since the lettuce and taco chips will probably get soggy. If you are not a fan of French dressing - try Ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a good basic Taco Salad recipe. I love recipes like this where you can be creative and add the ingredients you like, and it comes out great every time! I used Romaine instead of Iceberg lettuce, and added small red beans, and a small can of Southwest corn. I also used Doritos and an 8 oz. bottle of Catalina Dressing. I made this for my daughter's birthday party, and it got rave reviews from everyone. It made a huge bowl, and there was only a tiny bit leftover. As other reviewers have said - Do NOT refrigerate overnight with the dressing and chips mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I used ground chicken instead of lean beef to make this delicious chicken taco salad. I also used "Taco seasoning I" from this website for the seasoning. I left out the cheese. While the chicken was cooking, I preheated my oven to 350, scrunched up some tine foil into a ball, placed it into a tin pan and sprayed it with PAM. I placed a whole wheat wrap on top and let its sides ripple over each other. I baked it for about 7 minutes and placed the salad and chicken into it and poured the dressing on top - Very satisfying and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States