Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I made this but with chicken instead and it was really good. I cut up two chicken breasts (for 4 servings of salad). and put in a baggie, poured taco seasoning over it and let the meat marinade in it for 2 hours. I then sauteed chicken in skillet and mixed meat mixture with the rest of the ingredients except for tortilla chips and french dressing. Chilled for about 2 hours and then right before serving added tortilla chips and french dressing and tossed. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This Taco Salad is GREAT! I have a friend that was known for her taco salad and she told me the secret was catalina salad dressing so I came looking for a recipe. I know the salad dressing sounds really weird, but trust me it's awesome! I gave this only 4 stars because I changed it just a bit by using catalina french dressing instead of regular french and instead of the tortilla chips I've used fritos and also cool ranch doritos. I liked the Fritos best because it gave it a nice corn flavor, more like a taco shell. Regular tortilla chips are just too mild of a flavor for a taco salad in my opinion. I also like to add black beans and sometimes corn into the mix too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
this was an awesome salad! I love how the dressing gave it a different taste and it was quick to make too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I left out of all the onions and the peppers and it still turned out great! I mixed the salad, tomatoes, and cheese and refridgerated. I added the meat when it was ready to be eaten. Great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mochasweetie86

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is a great start/base recipe for taco salad. I followed this for the most part, and added the new "taco" flavored Doritoes vs the suggested chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Very good recipe. I made a little change and it was a hit! Instead of Tortilla chips I used Nacho Dorito's and Catalina dressing. SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I admit I changed this up a bit. I cooked the bell peppers with the meat. I also took the suggestion of some other viewers and baked 10in flour tortillas in a corning wear pot in the oven until browned. I also skipped out on the dressing and we just used salsa, guacamole, and sour cream. I also did not refrig over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I served the ingredients individually and let people make their own. I finally mastered getting my ground beef to a fine texture using a potato masher to break it down while it cooked. I didn't refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Love this salad, it is quick, easy and versatile. I opted to make individual salad plates and layered the ingredients rather than mixing together. I wouldn't recommend refrigerating overnight since the lettuce and taco chips will probably get soggy. If you are not a fan of French dressing - try Ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a good basic Taco Salad recipe. I love recipes like this where you can be creative and add the ingredients you like, and it comes out great every time! I used Romaine instead of Iceberg lettuce, and added small red beans, and a small can of Southwest corn. I also used Doritos and an 8 oz. bottle of Catalina Dressing. I made this for my daughter's birthday party, and it got rave reviews from everyone. It made a huge bowl, and there was only a tiny bit leftover. As other reviewers have said - Do NOT refrigerate overnight with the dressing and chips mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States