Taco Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Why use French Dressing? Make the salad fresh and use Emily's Dressing for Taco Salad. Otherwise, this is a good basic recipe for Taco Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Always a hit. I like to use Catalina dressing and Nacho Cheese Doritos in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I always add Catalina along with a little Thousand Island but the rest is whatever I have on hand. There are so many different combinations of ingredients you can use for this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bay, Michigan, USA
Living In: Felch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I chose this recipe because I had some Fat Free Catalina dressing to get rid of. I went with the Taco Doritos as other suggested but I changed the rest up by adding some corn, black beans and cilantro. I thought the dressing would be too sweet but it wasn't. I still like my version of Ranch Dressing and Salsa mixed together much better. But I do like the idea of using the Fat Free Catalina and saving a ton of calories. 1/4 cup is way too small amount of dressing. More like 1 cup. And the suggested amount of chips are pretty whimpy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Really good and easy. Used Western dressing as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is one of our staple recipes. The kids ask for it weekly and I have been making it for more then 5 years. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was simple to fix and great for a hot summer's evening meal. I cooked the onion and green pepper in with the beef and used Catalina french dressing and a dab of sour cream too. I didn't have any tomato so I tossed in some salsa. We didn't let this sit until the next day, we voted to eat it right away. Thanks, this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I made this for the first time this past weekend and couldn't get enough of it! I omitted the dressing because I'm not a dressing fan & was trying to keep it as low cal as possible and I put the crushed chips in a bowl on the side because I like my chips crunchy. Oh my gosh, it was the best salad I've eaten in a long time if I do say so myself! Other taco salad eaters said it was fine without the dressing and liked the crunchy chips too! Yummy! Definately worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is a keeper. My daughter loved this salad and always asks for it. Very refreshing even without the meat. I usually use a southwestern spicy dressing in lieu of the french dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I was going to submit my own recipe, but this one is so close. I like to use red pepper and green onions instead of green pepper and 'regular' onion. I also like to add about a 1/2 cup of Cottage Cheese and make my own salad dressing using 1/2 salsa and 1/2 sour cream. Definitely add chips last, like everybody else says. The best part of this recipe is how versatile - change it up, make it yours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States