Taco Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Just created this to take to an Easter pot luck today! I had a little too much for the big bowl, so I through some together for the hubs and he is devouring it now. He loves it... I waited to add the meat/beans mixture until making his plate, then added salsa and sour cream to it once it was on the plate. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RckyMtnGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I liked this and I didn't really change much. The beef mixture was a little watery but I just used a slotted spoon when I spooned it onto the iceberg lettuce. I was afraid the dressing might be too sweet or tangy but it actually wasn't. This is a nice easy mid-week dinner to make when you don't have alot of time and you can easily adapt this recipe to your own tastes. I had some avocados and mixed them up with the taco salad mixture along with a little red onion. Oh and instead of chili beans I used black beans because I like them better. I'm sure you could use any beans you like! My whole family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I combined the beef, beans, and taco seasoning with some chopped onions and a little water and brown that up. I used1/2 catalina and 1/2 thousand island dressing. To keep it from wilting, I had the lettuce on the cutting board, shredded cheddar cheese on the side, chopped up tomatoes in another bowl, and broken up Doritos in another bowl. Then I have a "mix" bowl handy and keep all ingredients separate..my family makes up their own individual taco salad in the mix bowl and transfers it to their plates. That way, when the meal is over and if there are left-overs I can store everything in separate containers and the chips and lettuce don't get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Have used this recipe for years! Yummy!! Usually DO NOT combine ingredients, as some of the kids don't like various ingredients. Make it a salad bar and add: black olives, red onion or green onion, sour cream and any more of your favorites! The meat mixture keeps better, the veggies don't wilt or run together!, AND the chips stay crunchy!! The kids LOVE it!,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Looks gross! Skip the taco seasoning as it's got tons of chemicals and preservatives in it. You can make your own. Same with the French dressing. Bottled dressings full of chemicals and preservatives. And iceberg lettuce has zero nutritional value. Change that to a green leaf or romaine. Seriously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I make this with Catalina Dressing and ground turkey. Good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe and oh so easy to put together quickly. I changed it a bit for my family. I added onions to the meat as well as raw onions in the salad. I didn't put beans in it or dressing. The salsa and sour cream was enough dressing. I used spicy nacho Doritos and I didn't mix in the meat. My family loves leftovers and the meat would have wilted the lettuce. So I mixed up the lettuce, onion, tomatoes, cheese,Doritos,sour cream and salsa in a large bowl then each family member dished up themselves. So everyone could choose the meat veggie ratio they perfer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
what do we eat this with,what main course will this salad complement?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
One of our favorites! I leave out the thousand dressing and use the taco seasoning from this site to ground beef/ground turkey mix everything together plus cheese doritos ...yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
We make a Taco Salad like this but use Western Dressing instead of French and Nacho Cheese Doritos instead of tortilla chips - much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States