Taco Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I like trying ingredients that don't seem to belong together like taco meat and French dressing. I read through some reviews and saw that some people thought the dressing made it too sweet and left it greasy. While I was cooking my burger I did think an entire bottle would be too much so I added a little less than half. I added 1/3 c. water and let simmer. It did have a 'grease film' that collected in spots which I would guess was from the oil in the dressing. We enjoyed the flavor and thought if more dressing was added, it would have been too overpowering. We enjoyed that it was a little different from the everyday norm. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANKNOTTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This was good. My husband loved it. He never eats leftovers, but had this for lunch the next day. I'm not sure if the salad dressing is necessary. I think it would be just as good without it. I mixed chili and pinto beans and added Doritos as others suggested. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This was one of the worst recipes I have ever made. Sickeningly sweet. Never again. Would have given it a 0 if I could
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
My husband and I both agree that the french dressing made the mixture too sweet and overpowered any "taco" taste we were expecting. It wasn't bad but wasn't really good either. Sorry, but will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
That was the best Taco salad we ever had! We loved the french dressing in it combined with the ground beef and the chilli beans. A plus is that the sour cream and the salsa is allready inside, it makes it really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this with Johnsonville Mild Italian sausage and I don't know WHY I thought that Italian sausage, French dressing and taco seasoning would go good together... The meat itself was.... too sweet and weird tasting. Adding it all together took away some of that so it wasn't TOO bad, but we all ate a tiny bitt. Perhaps I'll try again with regular ground beef. We have taco salad all the time, just never with french dressing. That was a new one on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Nicole Strickland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I really didn't like the flavor of the French dressing in this and I would not recommend cooking your meat in it, it created an incredible amount of grease in my pan. This would be better with thousand island dressing tossed in with everything at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I tried this tonight and it was my first time making taco salad of any kind. I LOVE the flavor and so did my fiance. This was delicious!!! I seasoned my ground beed with minced onion and black pepper for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
My family loves a version of this salad...basically the same recipe but we use Catalina dressing and nacho cheese doritos! Never have leftovers of this salad and is great at bbqs and potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States