Taco Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe! My son said, "This is the best pizza I've ever had!". I don't have a bread machine - so I used Jay's pizza crust recipe from this site. But these toppings were great. We covered with fresh lettuce and served sour cream on the side and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Best pizza I have had and the kids LOVED it! I didn't realize the dough made 2 pizzas so I used all the dough and spread it on a large clay style cookie sheet and loaded it up. It was deep dish heaven!! I also took the advice of another and put my sour cream in a ziplock and trimmed the end off and drizzled it over the pizza. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
yummy good I will have to say I did agree with another person on here add the Doritos very good....also I cooked up my onion with my hamburger meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
If you want a quick shortcut pizza, the toppings for this pizza taste just as good on either refrigerated canned pizza dough or refrigerated canned crescent dough. I like to use homemade taco seasoning, homemade refried beans, ground turkey (saves on your food budget and is a little healthier), sprinkle on some shredded lettuce and diced tomatoes and I cut the cheese back to a cup to cut back on the fat/calories. To make the refried beans easier to spread onto the dough, stirring in a quarter cup of reduced fat or fat free sour cream helps. GREAT for a quick, cheap dinner or even as a snack for parties. HUGE hit with almost anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
i don't usually rate something unless i'm giving it a good review, but I was so looking forward to this pizza & i was so let down. The flavor was really kinda blah, & only after topping it with taco sauce,sour cream, gr onions, lettuce & tomatoes did it taste like a taco, & was (just)ok to eat. Perhaps it was the beans;while refried beans do appear in mexican dishes, i've never had them in a taco, & I know now, that i've no desire to.....sorry, but if it were called "mexican pizza" it might not have been so disapointing, but even then, the flavor wasn't very good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I am thinking that this is a case of user-error. The recipe sounded great, but I've made this twice now, and both times I've had these problems: The dough doesn't get cooked all the way through, and ends up raw in the middle. The bean mixture is over-seasoned. It is sooooo salty. It's very nearly inedible because of the saltiness. But, every other reviewer loved it, so I think it may just be me. I will keep trying this until I get it right, because it sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody'sMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auxvasse, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour in the dough and mixed everything by hand (let the yeast proof in the water with 1 teaspoon of sugar first). I kept the toppings the same, except used taco sauce instead of the tomato paste/spices. My husband gave it to thumbs up. I thought it was just okay. The crust was so thick and dense, I think it would be better with a thinner/low-carb crust. I'll try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I finally found a taco pizza recipe that's a keeper! I halved the recipe and only made one pizza. I cooked the meat and onion together and skipped the extra taco seasoning with the meat. My only real suggestion is to bake the pizza crust a few minutes before adding the toppings, so the crust doesn't get soggy. I set out tomotoes, shredded lettuce, sour cream and crushed doritos (taco flavored) so we could each choose what to add on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITTZEND1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Awesome pizza recipe, try adding cornmeal to the crust recipe replacing some of the flour..SUPER YUMMY AND VERY CHEWY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I had never made one of these before, or even heard of it till my boyfriend brought it up one night. I have to admit..this was good. But I cheated and just used the Pillsbury dough in a can. Also we did have lettuce, olives, tomatoes, and sour cream for people to add to their own. Every body loved this recipe! And yea..I cooked the onion with the meat like some people said..worked great. My boyfriend wants to make this again, and put crumbled up tortilla shells on it..but I might try the Doritos..same thing..almost. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassielynnee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States