Taco Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This pizza was great! Used my own pizza crust recipe, substituted taco sauce for the tomato paste and water, used green onion instead of regular onion, added shredded lettuce, chopped tomato, and sour cream to the top! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This was delicious! First time I ever used my bread machine to make dough, and it worked great. It was a little spicy for my taste, but otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I am usually a stickler at trying a recipe to the letter the first try but I didn't have time to make the dough, so I used a store brand already made crust. And it was delicious!! This will surely be a regular meal in my home from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
My husband and I instituted a family tradition of Fridays being Pizza Night to celebrate the coming weekend. As a result we are always looking for fun new pizza recipes and decided to give this one a try for our taco pizza attempt tonight. We both liked it very much and I made it mostly according to the recipe. The changes were that I made my own taco seasoning and omitted the extra chili powder and cayenne pepper, left out the beans (my husband won't eat them), made my own salsa from fresh roma tomatoes, cilantro, onion, lemon juice and salt and added a little sugar to the dough. The dough tasted more like bread than pizzs crust, but it was good. I liked the sauce, which I mixed with the salsa and will probably add a little more of it next time. I also used sliced fresh hot and bell peppers on top, fiesta cheese mix and made it into a big thin crust pizza on a cookie sheet instead of making 2 round pizzas. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I give this recipe 10 stars! We love love loved it!! I was full, but I didn't want to stop eating it, and my husband said the same. The crust was perfect, the sauce was perfect, it was just great all around. I did try some crushed doritos on one slice, and that was good, too. But the best was dipping it into guacamole. YUM!!! I can't wait to make this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I followed this recipe to a T.. but just did not care for it. I was hoping for a taste similar to the taco pizza I used to eat at Pizza Hut years ago, but it just didn't fit the bill. My boyfriend who normally loves anythign I make, said that he wouldn't mind if I never made this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Churubusco, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Love this pizza! Used store bought crusts and added black olives and additional onion to the top. Also used a combo of cheddar and salsa jack cheeses. Only complaint was the amount of cayenne made it too spicy for me (yes, I'm a spice wimp). Kids and boyfriend ate it up though. He had 4 pieces and that's the most I've seen him eat in one sitting. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Good recipe. Next time I will not melt the cheese on top. I will add it after it is baked and put some shredded lettuce and dollops of sour cream on top. Overall, a good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
We use Tyler Florence's pizza recipe so I can't comment on this one but the idea to mix the refried beans with the salsa was a good one. We browned the beef and chopped onion together, added 1 cup of water and the taco seasoning and cooked it down as directed on the package. We warmed a can of refried beans with enough salsa to make it the right consistency to use as the base sauce. We put the beans down then the crumbled beef and cheese and cooked it in a 500 degree oven. We added chopped tomato and lettuce and piped sour cream over in a sandwich bag with one corner cut off when it came out of the oven. Best taco pizza we've ever had. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I thought this was very good. I used store bought crust as well and used enchilada sauce mixed with the taco seasoning. I made one with the crushed Doritos and one without. I had a new BBQ flavor ones and didn't know if they would taste ok or not. The one with the Doritos was definitely more flavorful. Topped it with Taco Bell hot sauce and sour cream. I thought this tasted a lot like Taco Bells encharito which I love. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdloves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States