Taco Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I used a different crust recipe, so I'm only reviewing the toppings. This was a tasty pizza, but I think it's better with some changes. It has the advantage of being easy to adjust, which is great because my husband and I have very different tastes. He doesn't like veggies, so I left out the onion and salsa on his and increased the meat. I piped sour cream on top of his pizza and topped it with crushed Doritos. He liked it, but I don't think it's a favorite. On my pizza, I followed the recipe and then topped it with lettuce, tomatoes, sour cream, and Doritos. The spices were a little strong for me, so I'll use less of the tomato paste mixture on my pizza next time. I'm a veggie-lover, so I thought that the tomatoes and lettuce were crucial ingredients. However, they kept falling off the pizza! I don't want to put them under the cheese because I think they're better uncooked, but the pizza is hard to eat with the lettuce and tomato piled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
When all the local pizza joints stopped serving taco pizza, I went searching for one I could make myself. This is the 4th recipe I found and tried and the last one I'll ever need. I don't understand reviewers that change everything then leave a rating but I don't have a bread machine or patience so I used store bought pizza crusts on this one and it is still SOOO delicious. It is the perfect combination of flavors. Occassionally I add a little shredded lettuce and diced tomato on top after cooking but the pizza is delicious without it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roundup, Montana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Very good pizza! I must admit that I did use another pizza crust - Jay's Signature Pizza Crust, a recipe from this site, because I only wanted to make one pizza since it is only my husband and I. I cut the cayenne pepper in half in fear that it may be too much spice for us. Once I rolled out the dough, I put some olive oil and garlic powder on it and pre-baked it for 5 minutes. I topped the pizza with lettuce, tomato and crushed Doritos after it was done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Excellent pizza, tastes like it's been delivered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Made as recipe said to. Used a different crust recipe. Not bad but still not Godfathers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was great! I did make some changes though that I thought would make the pizza what I was looking for: Used a store bought crust that you add water to and then it is the perfect dough (make sure to cook the dough for about 6-7 minutes before you put the toppings on it), i sauteed an onion and then used ground turkey (healthier) and then added the taco seasoning to the meat mixture. When I layered the pizza I put a can of refried beans down, then some salsa, then the meat mixture, then the cheese. When I took it out of the oven, I added chopped lettuce, tomatoes and sour cream. The only complaint that I have is that this was really heavy! Next time I am going to use less turkey meat and less cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Holy cow this was super good! We only put beans on one of the pizza due to some people not liking beans at my house but even they ended up preferring the pizza with the beans. Spicy foods go over well at my house so we also put a layer of jalapenos before we added the meat and cheese. The crust was pretty good, but I recommend put the sauce to the edge because that's the good part. Excellent recipe! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
YUM! I can only rate this based on the toppings, as I didn't make the dough using this recipe because I do not have a bread machine. I used Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust off this site and it worked well with this. The only change I made to the toppings was to use ground turkey instead of beef. I baked as directed, then added crushed Doritos for the last few minutes of baking time. After it came out of the oven, I topped with chopped lettuce and a can of drained Rotel (I would have used fresh tomatoes, but was out). My fiance ate his with hot sauce on top and I put sour cream on mine. Really great base recipe that you can build off of to suit your tastes/cravings! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
made exactly as written; had a wierd taste too it...possibly the refried beans...not sure but wont try again as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
We both loved this pizza. I only made one pizza, but I did make the entire amount of dough. There's plenty of recipes that called for pizza dough, so I just used it for one of those. I halved all of the other ingredients except the meat, and I didn't really realize that until I was putting the meat on the pizza thinking there was plenty of meat to cover it! I used mostly what was called for--I used my own taco seasoning (made the Taco Seasoning mix on here) and subbed ground turkey for the ground beef. I topped after baking with lettuce and tomato as suggested, and bf additionally topped his with sour cream. Very yummy, thanks! Oh, and by the way, I love the dough as well. For any other pizza, I'd probably add italian seasoning but it's perfect for taco pizza. 15 min was perfect to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States