Taco Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Very easy and very tasty! This is perfect for a nice summer meal. If you love tacos and you love pizza then this combination is for you! I used "Taco Seasoning II" from this site vs. using a packaged taco mix. I also saved time using a pre-made dough vs. making it homemade. I sauteed about 1/4 cup of onion along with the ground beef for a little extra flavor. After the "pizza" cooled a bit, I topped it with all the typical "taco" toppings to make it nice and pretty: shredded lettuce, chopped de-seeded tomatoes, sliced black olives, thin sliced green onion, and a few well placed dollups of sour cream and homemade guacamole! The leftovers are great too... that is is you have any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
We did these on the grill using tortillas instead of the pizza dough. Brushed the tortillas with a bit of olive oil, browned on one side, flipped them over and then added the toppings. Mexican food heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
We use Tyler Florence's pizza recipe so I can't comment on this one but the idea to mix the refried beans with the salsa was a good one. We browned the beef and chopped onion together, added 1 cup of water and the taco seasoning and cooked it down as directed on the package. We warmed a can of refried beans with enough salsa to make it the right consistency to use as the base sauce. We put the beans down then the crumbled beef and cheese and cooked it in a 500 degree oven. We added chopped tomato and lettuce and piped sour cream over in a sandwich bag with one corner cut off when it came out of the oven. Best taco pizza we've ever had. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Yummy! You have to serve this with crushed Doritos on top and hot sauce - trust me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
A great recipe that is simple, inexpensive, and very tasty. I don't have a bread maching so I used a store bought pizza crust (Boboli brand). I also didn't notice that the recipe was for 2 pizzas until I started cooking. I made 1 pizza using the full 1/2 lb of ground beef, and mixed the other ingredients as stated in the recipe. While assembling the pizza I used what looked right to me - not necessarily half of everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
As a Mexican food LOVER..I laughed when I realized i'd never made Taco Pizza! Well I did, and it was great! I used taco sauce instead of tomato paste + and took the heeded advise about the crushed Doritos..yumm..will be making this at least once a month! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOCHIE71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
The best thing about this recipe is the crust. It really did turn out so well. I will use the crust recipe in the future. My only complaint with the topping is that the dominant flavor of this dish is the taco seasoning packet which just isn't my favorite. You must really enjoy the flavor of packaged taco seasoning mix to like the finished product here. I think it would be far better to follow the recipe and substitute your own spices (chili powder, cumin, garlic, a little oregano, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I tried this out on my friends, we all loved it! Added a diced tomato, shredded lettuce and sour cream. We will deffinatly be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
If you want a quick shortcut pizza, the toppings for this pizza taste just as good on either refrigerated canned pizza dough or refrigerated canned crescent dough. I like to use homemade taco seasoning, homemade refried beans, ground turkey (saves on your food budget and is a little healthier), sprinkle on some shredded lettuce and diced tomatoes and I cut the cheese back to a cup to cut back on the fat/calories. To make the refried beans easier to spread onto the dough, stirring in a quarter cup of reduced fat or fat free sour cream helps. GREAT for a quick, cheap dinner or even as a snack for parties. HUGE hit with almost anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Delicious! I use flour tortillas for the crust as we like it thin, thin, thin. Also, I mix the salsa with the refried beans for easier spreading. Need to make this again, soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States