Taco Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jen
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
The kids liked this. As the recipe is I would say it was bland, and in need of seasoning, I also added taco seasoning to the sour cream. It's a good base recipe. Leftovers are kind of hard to deal with. But overall pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe gets 5 stars w/ 2 minor alterations. Seasoned the ground beef with taco seasoning and stirred a can of black beans into the beef mixture before layering it on top of the refried beans. Quick, easy, healthy, inexpensive and my husband and 6 small children loved it! I think I'll make it the next time I offer to bring a meal to someone. You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDSUMMERMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Added taco seasoning but don't think the recipe should be marked down for it. Great concept and something new other than tacos. Bf loved it. Baked the pie crust first..mixed beans and meat together & added a layer of green chilis. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I am making this right now. Using the taco seasoning added some red pepper and mushrooms. No refried beans as I didn't have any. I also am using wraps instead of the pie shells. Doing this because Loblaws at one time carried a taco pie and this is what they used. It tasted great and so I did it on my own. Will be layering shredded cheddar between the layers and baking in the oven about 20 minutes 350 to heat through. Used a 9 inch round pan and three whole wheat wraps. Will serve with salad and the usual acoutrements that accompany regular tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omemee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
We loved it. I baked the pie crust til it was totally done. Used 1/2 can of beans that were warmed upon the bottom. 3/4 lb of ground beef cooked with onion and seasoned with taco seasoning. Then quite a bit of raw onion, a thin layer of Pace Picante sauce, about 1 cup of cheese, 1 1/2 cups crushed Santitos (these were perfect!) then another 1-1 1/2 cups of cheese. Baked about 15 minutes. Topped with sour cream, salsa and lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
added the taco seasoning like others suggested & it was a big hit with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This was a great recipe. I didn't like the crushed tortilla chips in the pie. I added taco seasoning to the beef. Overall, great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Needs some improving. Thought it lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I used 2# of ground beef for 2 DEEP DISH pies as I thought that just 1# was too stingy even with the other ingrediants. I used one envelope of Taco seasoning & used Dehydrated onion WHEN COOKING the MEAT as my husband does not like onions that much. I will also cook the pies all the way first as others have advised so it won't be soggy. I also used salsa as others tried and it made it much better and my husband said that made it more flavorful. I made the 2 pies for just the two of us and had the other in two days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Svinth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
5 stars with a few modifications. I fully baked the pie crusts according to the directions on them. I added the onion in while browning the meat to soften it. Once the meat was browned, I added taco seasoning and water per the taco seasoning mix packet. I added ingredients in the following order: refried beans, taco meat & onions, cheese, crushed tortilla chips. Once the pie was done baking, I topped with taco sauce, lettuce, tomato, black olives, and sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States