Taco Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
As is this would be a two or even a one, but it is a five if you season it. I find it hard to believe that there can be a recipe with no seasonings in it. Any way, after the beef was almost cooked I drained the fat and added chopped onion and cooked until the onion was softened. I added a packet of reduced sodium taco seasoning and a little water so the mixture wouldn't be dry. I did bake the pie shell for the full 15 minutes it called for. If you add the beans into the hot shell it it easier to spread and you wont have the tearing. I added the cheese then the chips on top this prevented the cheese from overcooking. When it was done I topped the pie with olives diced red onion and taco sauce. I served homemade guac. and sour cream on the side. The whole family loved it and they want me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
A great base for a recipe but, like many before me have said, it needs tweaking. I used taco seasoning in the beef. I added the refried beans, some green peppers, the onion, a little cumin and garlic to the beef and simmered it for a while. Some of the reviews said that the crust was soggy so I just baked it according the directions on package instead of baking it half way like the recipe called for. I was prepared to put foil on the edges to prevent burning if necessary but it wasn't. I layered the beef/bean mixture on the crust and mixed in some grated cheddar,next I added a thin layer of salsa (very thin). It seemed that it might have been bland without it. Next came the crushed chips and more cheese and then I baked it until the cheese melted. My kids loved it. My picky 3 year old, my 7 year old who hates beans (he didn't know they were in the beef) and my 9 year old who hates cheese. They all asked for seconds.Thanks Carole for a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I will definitely make again! As with other suggestions, I baked the crust completely as directed. I used ground chicken and used lower-sodium taco seasoning. In one of the pies, I put hot sauce and jalepenos, but left one plain for the kids. It really needs more seasoning than in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
The meat was a little bland so I added taco seasoning mix and taco sauce. This spiced it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
I thought this recipe could definitely be improved upon by using taco seasoning, cooking the onions, and adding salsa and jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clspeech

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
with 4 kids you can never please them all but my older kids love this recipe as does my husband. Just don't mention the words refried beans to your kids and they'll love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
Ehhh. Didn't do much for me. I love tacos and taco salads...but this was kinda blah. As usual, I spiced it up big time (cumin, cilantro, chili powder, onions, garlic, etc.)...I guess what was really missing was the "crunch" that you get from taco chips/shells. The crust made the whole thing a little too mushy for my liking. Next time, I'll stick to the traditional tacos! Very creative recipe tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I baked the pie shells for about 2/3 of the directed time before adding the filling. I used taco seasoning on the meat and cooked the onions with it. I heated the refried beans before spreading them on the shells and it really helped. I placed the meat/onion filling in, topped with a layer of salsa (which really adds to the flavor) and then topped with crushed chips and shredded cheese. I then baked the pies for another 15 minutes. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ageiser
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was the biggest hit with my family in a ong time. I have 4 kids and they all wanted thirds! This looks as if it takes hours but only takes minutes. So quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ageiser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Plantersville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was really good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States