Taco Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This is a great recipe, but, as others have said, needs seasoning. I made taco meat using a packaged seasoning mix and that made the difference. Also added salsa on top. Baking the crust partway is important, otherwise it will get soggy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I will definitely make again! As with other suggestions, I baked the crust completely as directed. I used ground chicken and used lower-sodium taco seasoning. In one of the pies, I put hot sauce and jalepenos, but left one plain for the kids. It really needs more seasoning than in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Everytime you make it, it's even more delicious than before!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
It was good but bland. So I spiced it up I mixed the beef with taco seasoning and hot peppers. I also used nacho cheese tortilla chips instead of plain. After it baked I put salsa and sour cream mixture and finished it with lettuce and green and black olives.This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I thought this was really good - but I too seasoned the beef as a browned it. I used low fat sour cream and cheese and my husband couldn't tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
As is this would be a two or even a one, but it is a five if you season it. I find it hard to believe that there can be a recipe with no seasonings in it. Any way, after the beef was almost cooked I drained the fat and added chopped onion and cooked until the onion was softened. I added a packet of reduced sodium taco seasoning and a little water so the mixture wouldn't be dry. I did bake the pie shell for the full 15 minutes it called for. If you add the beans into the hot shell it it easier to spread and you wont have the tearing. I added the cheese then the chips on top this prevented the cheese from overcooking. When it was done I topped the pie with olives diced red onion and taco sauce. I served homemade guac. and sour cream on the side. The whole family loved it and they want me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
My family and I didn't care for this. I personally didn't like the pie crust part of it. It didn't have much flavor even though I put taco seasoning in the meat. The cheese was way over-baked and was hard and crusty. I'm sorry, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Donnelly, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Redfield, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This is good and easy, BUT - definitely season your ground beef. I add about 1T of taco seasoning and 1/3c. or so of salsa after it's browned. I also added 1 small can of chopped green chiles mixed in the beans. I can imagine how bland it would have been w/out these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Well, it was alright. I took out the beans, my hisband doesn't like them, and I added salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I loved this recipe. I made a few changes. I baked the pie crust through as directed on package. When I browned the ground beef, I added salsa to it for flavor. I topped the pie as directed, and it was a great twist for the everyday taco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States