Taco Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
The Taco Pies were a big hit for the family I nanny for! You do need to add some taco seasoning to it though. Just follow the package directions for that! If you don't add the seasoning, it's too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
IN 15 to 20 minutes the onion just won't be cooked. Add it to the ground beef and cook it on top of the stove. This really needs some seasoning: pre-packaged taco seasoning is even better than nothing. I personally don't like the pre-packaged mixes, but you can make your own: cumin, oregano, chili powder, maybe some red pepper flakes for heat, salt, pepper, perhaps a little garlic added to the ground beef (only good the garlic a couple of minutes, however, or it will be bitter. This is a basic recipe that needs help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I listened to the reviewers who said to cook the pie crust the entire time (instead of half) and it turned out a little too crispy. The shell flaked apart and made it very messy to eat. It was also a little dry. We added lots of sour cream and salsa. My husband and daughter both liked this, and we had leftovers to share with my dad. I will make it again because it has a good taste and was inexpensive for a huge amount of food. I will just make sure it doesn't turn out as dry next time. I also sauteed the onions and mixed them in with the hamburger instead of putting them on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara914

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
If I make this again I will definitely not use pie crust. We didn't think it tasted right at all. Using corn tortillas at the bottom would probably taste a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ageiser
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was the biggest hit with my family in a ong time. I have 4 kids and they all wanted thirds! This looks as if it takes hours but only takes minutes. So quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ageiser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Plantersville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My family LOVED this dish! I thought it was wierd not using taco seasoning, but it turned out great anyway! My 13 year old son couldn't get enough! Thanks for this great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJsLady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
i thought this was good, different from the routine! My BF is lactose intolerant so i couldnt put cheese on his side, so the doritos burned tho. (my side was great tho!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruston, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
meat too dry. I suggest adding spices or taco sauce to the meat while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was really good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
My family loved these. Even my husband, who is not a taco fan, came back for seconds. I did only make one pie and used the entire 1 lb of meat. I also took other reviewers suggestions and added taco seasoning to the meat. I will be making these again and will make 2 next time, but will increase the meat to 2 lbs so that I have 1 lb per pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States