Taco Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I thought it was a very bland recipe. It would have to be revamped if it is supposed to be good, I do not think the pie crust adds a thing. Maybe masa or some other kind of crust, I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Odom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Delicious, however still needed SALSA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This would have been a great recipe IF it had specified to add taco seasoning to the meat... which I did. And if it told you to make a pie crust from scratch, to which you add no sugar. It's strange with a sweet crust, which I guess all store-bought ones are since I had Pet-Ritz, a leading brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very bland. Next time I make it I will add a little taco seasoning to the meat mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
The kids love this. It was dry the first time I made these. So the next time I put a package of taco seasoning in the ground beef as directed on the package. Also, stir the beans in with the beef before putting in the pie shells. That time it didn't seen that dry. This was a fun idea. I will continue to make these and experiment with different ingredients. Maybe some chicken, green peppers, and onions next time...we'll call those Chicken fajita pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
My husband and I enjoyed this on a Friday night and I made 2 and enjoyed the other for lunch on Sunday . Quick and easy make ahead meal so plan to have fun along with this recipe! Beverly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I loooooved this recipe!!! It was so easy to put together and it tastes great. I used ground turkey and I did add a package of taco seasoning to the meat for some extra flavor. The taco fixings taste great on the pie crust, I would have never guessed it. It definitely is a family favorite and also makes great leftovers. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
We really liked this dish. Took previous suggestions and added taco seasoning and onion to the ground beef. I used low fat Mexican cheese (I was trying to be good!). Next time I would use regular because the reduced fat doesn't melt as well. I'll definitely be making thisone again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I really liked this entree for it's simplicity as well as taste. Alot of people said that they did not care for the pie crust, but I thought it was a fun change to enjoying Mexican based cuisine. Per the recommendation of other readers I added a bit of taco seasoning to my meat. Instead of baking the onions in the pie, I actually left them until adding the toppings because I enjoy the crunch & taste better of uncooked white onions. In addition, I omitted the black olives (just not a fan) and subbed red peppers (because there were some sitting around). I made it for my parents & my dad chose to add jalapenos to his as well. They are pretty picky people, but we devoured this meal & they even commented that they liked it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Huge hit at my house last night. Added the reviewers' suggested taco seasoning. That did the trick. I wish I had cooked the pie shell longer, but the taste was still right on. Two pies meant one fancy on for the parents and a kid friendly one for the kids. I'll make this again—no doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States