Taco Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
These weren't horrible, but they weren't very good either. I seasoned the meat (otherwise they WOULD have been horrible), but the combination of the meat and pie crust just didn't work for us. It was a nice idea, but I think we'll stick with regular tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I don't think I've ever given a recipe a rating below 4 stars but sadly, this one only gets 1. As suggested by other reviewers I added taco seasoning & even that didn't make this any better. In theory it sounds delicious & I was excited to try it but was disappointed in the lack of flavor. The pie crust does not go with these ingredients at all & the crushed tortilla chips are overkill (next time I'd only use chips, not pie crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Changed a few things to my liking. Very good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Awsome dish :D I usually crunch the chips on top of the layer of cheese and add another small layer of cheese on top of that cause i found the chips to taste a bit stale if not covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was good! I added a packet of taco seasoning and that definetely helped spice things up a bit! I also added a cup of black beans in place of the refried beans. I only used one crust, and used crushed tortilla chips as the top "crust" this was good...I might add some chili powder or a can of chiles next time for a bit of added spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is a time saver and fun dish to prepare! I enjoyed it greatly and so did all my friends that were at my house for dinner. The one thing that would do different the next time is make sure to get a bean that is pretty pureed and not so beany. (chunky that is) makes it easy to spread. I did do what the one cook suggested of cooking the pies for the full time that is suggested on the package and that makes a huge difference. Makes the first layer easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This was so easy and so surprisingly good! I did take the advice given by some of the other posts and seasoned my meat with taco seasoning. I also added salsa to the mix and I think it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I made this with taco seasoning and ground turkey. I also layered the beans, turkey,and cheese twice instead of just once. I left off the top layer. It ended up being really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandyann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
When I made this, I followed the suggestion of some of the other reviews by adding taco seasoning and onions to the meat. I thought this was VERY good, but without the seasonings it would definitely be bland. Also, I don't really think the flavor of the pie shell went well with all the taco flavors, so next time I think I will layer a couple of tortilla shells instead. VERY yummie and definitely will become a regular meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
My family loved it! I spiced up the meat with ground cumin, chili powder, onion, garlic, salt, and pepper. When I served it I added salsa as an additional optional topping. Next time I will double the refried beans. I made two with ground beef and two with Morning Star Farms Recipe crumbles. One of each went in the freezer for a later date when I'm short on time. My family says this is a definite do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WONDERWENDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States