Taco Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was so delicious and easy. I appreciate a recipe and other reviews that allow me to tweek it to suit our tastes. My personal modifications were similiar to others except I used yogurt instead of the sour cream mixed with the seasoned hamburger mixture. That gave it a slightly sweet taste, but I balanced it with some green chilies from a jar and a squeeze of Mexican seasoning in the tube. I topped that with 4 slices of cheddar cheese,taco sauce, and some crumbled taco chips as per recipe,then baked about 18 minutes. Thanks to the submitter for a really good and easy Mexican meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This is really tasty. The only change I would make is to heat it a little longer than 10 minutes--maybe 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
First and foremost, all respect to the poster of the recipe! I see recipes as a 'starting-point' and then add/delete things that I know my family will like. I have little patience for people who give a negative review because they didn't like the original recipe... That being said: My family lives by the mantra of 'the spicier, the better'! So I added to the ground beef mix: 2 oz taco seasoning (swear by 'Tone's) which is sold at Sam's Club), 1 diced onion, 2 tbs. cayenne pepper, 2 tbs. chili pepper, 1 tbs. minced garlic, 1 tbs. garlic powder, 1/2 handful (or so) of pickled jalepeno (minced) & 1/2 c. of Pace hot picante sauce. I followed the directions for the crescent rolls (but in a 9x13 dish), then layered 1/2 meat, 1 can of pinto beans and the rest of the meat... my family doesn't care for sour cream, so I ommited that all together. Then I topped with a heavy sprinkle of additional chili powder, salt and pepper. Topped with cheddar and tortilla chips. Covered with foil for 25 minutes them removed the foil and backed for an additional 10 minutes. Served with refried beans and mexican rice. We were all having to drink milk to combat the heat, but I (you, poster) have been praised to the extreme! I have been told by me two daughters (age 14 & 17) as well as my husband that if I don't make this at least twice a month, they will move out.... but come to think of it... WOULD that be such a bad thing? :) Kudos to you again for the idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
it was good. the first time I made it it turned out good. the second time I made it the bread rose up like a loaf of bread from the grocery store so that screwed me up. maybe I should have used a roller the make it flatter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
We had this about a week ago and loved it. Now I'm making this for potluck Sunday at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
My family loves this stuff, I gave it 4 stars only because it doesn't have salsa in it. I put a layer of salsa on top of the sour cream, then cheese and I used fritos for the chips, amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Very kid friendly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Delish and simple! Great after-work dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
If I would have listened to half of these reviews I wouldn't have had the opportunity to experience the deliciousness that the crescent rolls bring to the dish. The only changes I made were I added green chilies,corn, and beans. It was great my family ate it up and requested it again for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Loved this recipe! It was easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States