Taco Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I have a recipe similar to this but used flour tortillas.. I baked my cresent rolls about 4 minutes under time. I included ro-tel & onion in my meat then taco seasoning. I layered mine as follows: rolls, white cheese dip,meat,ranch style beans, sour cream, mexican style cheese then nacho doritos. Last 3 minutes covered with foil so the chips would not burn.. Make sure you SPRAY your glass dish, I did mine in a 9x13.. MMMMM family LOVED it! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
781 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
My extended family loved this. I doubled the recipe and cooked it in a 9X13 pan. Used low-fat sour cream and Cheddar cheese, but added lowfat refried beans. Garnished with shredded lettuce, olives, diced tomatoes and a tiny bit of salsa and guacamole. Yummy! Made an excellent presentation with the extra color.Thanks for sharing Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
575 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Despite the review by the self appointed food police, I found this dish to be quick and easy and very tasty. We are all adults here and we dont need to be reminded to check the trans fat and calories. Ratings like that ruin the purpose of the rating system. Great reciped! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
522 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
My husband and I loved this! I browned the beef last night, along with chopped onion, chopped jalapenos and the taco seasoning, which made today's preparation much quicker. After the crescent roll layer baked (I did mine in an 11x7 -had a few crescent rolls left over) I put the meat on, a layer of salsa, then black olives, then the sour cream (not a whole container - just enough to cover) then the cheese, followed by Doritos "Nacho Cheesier" chips (crumbled.)Served w/chopped tomatoes to top it with and the Absolute Mexican Cornbread from this website (along w/an asparagus dish)- EXCELLENT meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Very easy to make and quite yummy. I took the advice of a pp and mixed the sour cream in with the taco meat and then baked it. Also added some cheese to the baked crescent dough before adding the taco meat. And I make my taco meat with Garden Style taco sauce instead of water. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
My family really enjoyed this recipe, from my 1 year old to my hubby. It was easy and delicious. A bonus is that I almost always have the ingredients on hand, so it is sure to be a quick dinner solution on a busy night. From start to finish it took less than 30 minutes to have the meal on the table, that is a major plus. The only suggestion that I would make is (and I should have been smart enough to figure it out)...spray the bottom of your pan with a vegetable spray. I used a glass 9 x 13 pan and thought that the crescent rolls would be buttery enough that they wouldn't stick...wrong. I garnished with the traditional taco toppings. This is a nice family recipe that was easy and enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbon, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
This was very quick and easy, which is a plus in my non-air conditioned apartment in the middle of summer. This does need a little tweeking IMO. Waaaay too salty for my liking between the taco seasoning and tortilla chips. Next time I will find salt-free ones. Also, next time I will not completely cook my crecent rolls. They got a little too browned after putting in the oven the 2nd time to melt the cheese. I cooked mine without the sour cream as I'm not a huge fan unless it's in a dip. I just don't enjoy the taste. I served it on the side with salsa. Fiance said it was really good that way. I do want to try this again, because I think this recipe really has potential. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
My family loved this!!! I added salsa and refried beans . I also did not add so much sour cream!!! My famiy gave this a "10" I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRY WOMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunkirk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kenton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
I too omitted the sour cream because my boyfriend doesn't like it. I also used my own spices instead of prepackaged taco seasoning (cumin, chili powder and garlic powder) and covered the meat with water and simmered it down for a better consistency. I also put salsa over the meat when layering the ingredients. It turned out great! Definitely a regular dish around our place now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I know I know I knooooow "You can't rate it when you changed the ingredients". I didn't omit any ingredients though, just added more things. So I'm rating this 5 stars FOR THE GREAT IDEA AND START TO A VERY VERSITILE RECIPE. Okay, now that that's out of the way. First, I doubled this recipe and put it in a greased 9x13 glass dish. I went w/ another reviewer and baked the dough about 4 min. less than what it called for since it will be cooking some more in the oven when it's all put together. DO NOT DO THAT. The crust was doughy and raw and soggy even after cooking the whole thing for 15 minutes at the temperature I used to cook the dough. Next time I will absolutely cook the dough ALL the way the WHOLE time it calls for. Now, I made the beef like I would normally make it for regular taco meat (add seasoning and simmer w/ water to get the consistancy). I also added 1/2 a chopped onion to the meat while it cooked. I layered it in this order: Dough/Crust, taco meat, 1 can refried beans & 1 16oz container sour cream mixed then spread on top of meat, 1/2 jar of salsa, 1 can of black beans, 1/2 bag of taco seasoned cheese & 1/2 bag of sharp cheddar, then the chips finally on top. Everything about thi was amazing minus my faulty error w/ the dough. You could always do this w/o the crust and just use for a taco dip. AMAZING recipe, thank you for the start of a great thing! This is so easy to omit and add items as you choose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saylorville, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States