Taco Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I hate missing an opportunity to add veggies to something, especially when the family won't even notice. I doubled the recipe into a 9x13 pan, added a chopped onion when I was browning the beef, and added a can of drained diced tomatoes when adding the taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I make this a lot but I use the tortillas, I really don't like the taste of those canned biscuits. It is much more tasty with the tortillas.And despite "neo" worrying about the "food police", I for one am grateful for the reviews and helpful hints! Thanks to all who take the time to add their own tweaks! I used the taco seasoning packet and added refried beans as one of the layers and lots os cheese and lots of sour cream....YUMMMMM...DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Centre, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I've been making this dish for years. Always a hit. The changes I've made over the years is instead of using a cake plate or pie plate I use a cookie sheet. Basically rolling the crescent rolls out to about 9x13 size (easier now if by using the sheet rolls). Lightly covering the dough with crushed corn chips rather than tortilla chips (more flavor);top with the meat mix; then covering the meat mix with sour cream; top with more crushed corn chips; then adding the grated cheddar cheese. Bake at 375 for about 20-25 minutes. By making it this way, it's easier to eat and the recipe stretches a little farther. I've also added a small can of sliced black olives. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I've used a similiar recipe for years. No need to bake the crescent dough first add crushed corn chips on top . Then meat, cheese, end with sour cream & crushed chips. & bake. Either way it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chuck
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Outstanding! I garnished mine with a little salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I thought this recipe was just okay. If you didn't have all the extra toppings like lettuce, black olive, taco sauce, etc You would have an incredibly bland dish. I felt like it needed more meat and had too much crescent roll at the bottom and I only used half the chips which turned out to be PLENTY! I doubt I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by severina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Super easy and equally yummy! This was a hit with the kids and the hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Made this tonight. Based on previous reviews, we were excited . However, we found it to be quite dry and bland. Way too many crushed tortilla chips and the crust, crescent rolls, turned out dry in the end. The crescent rolls turned out to be strange as a crust. The only thing good to eat was the beef, which I seasoned myself. We ended up throwing the large amount left over away, because neither of us wanted it for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jibgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kota Wolfe
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kota Wolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Amazing! This recipe is easy to make and really delicious! My family devoured their plates and asked for seconds! The only things I did differently was I added a little sauteed onion and garlic to the beef mixture and I also didn't use as much sour cream. I used Doritos for the cruncy topping and it was wonderful! Also, make sure you coat the bottom of the pan with a good layer of baking spray, otherwise the crescent rolls will stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States