Taco Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Shay love
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This was a great recipe. I changed one thing instead of the croissant i used pie crust, it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shay love

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
My husband and his hunting buddies really enjoyed this! It became a late dinner when they bagged an elk. It was good to me but I knew it was a hit when they had seconds and thirds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Royer Johnson Dietrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I changed the recipe. Used an 8" by 11" glass dish sprayed with pam. Then mixed the browned ground beef with 1 can rotel tomatoes with chilies, and put that on the bottom. Then mixed 1 can refried beans with green chiles with 2 heaping tablespoons sour cream and spread that on top of the meat. It can be warmed a little if necessary to spread easier. Then drained a can of whole kernel corn, and put that on top. Then added 8 oz. of shredded sharp cheese. I baked it 10 mins, and then put foil on the top for another 15-20 mins. to heat everything through to the center. I had bowls of sour cream, and chopped black olives for toppings. I served it with yellow round nacho chips to scoop it up. Incredible dish! Very similar to tacos but so much easier to prepare ahead of time, and put in the oven at last minute and have just one dish that stays hot. I had a can of Pillsbury refrigerated Artisan whole grain pizza dough, which I baked on a sprayed dark cookie sheet ahead of time, and my husband enjoyed putting the mixture on that bread. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
We tried this last night and loved it! My picky 9 year olds gobbled it up and my husband even commented on how good it was. Thank you for a great recipe. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Pretty good a little different from your regular taco. Kids enjoyed and had seconds when dad got home. Sides: Rice and Beans I might like it paired with some hot sauce next time for a little wetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I also have similar recipe we dont bake the cresent roll crust first and we use fritos as the first layer and add on top of the cheese....I have also used Krogers tex-mex sour cream and it was a huge it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Excellent! I didn't have regular chips so I cut the taco spice in half and used crushed Takis' on top and it added just the right kick. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was very good but I only gave it 4 stars because IMHO it needed a tweak or two. Used an 8x8 pan, sprayed. Cooked the dough for 11 minutes. I added a layer of canned black beans after the sour cream. It didn't take anywhere near as many crushed tortilla chips as the recipe calls for. And how can you bake it until the cheese melts when you can't see the cheese because it's under all those chips? I cooked it for about 18 minutes and then let it sit for a bit. Then cut it into 6 pieces and ate it. Very good. I think a little salsa on top would be yummy. And I think I'll use the spicy taco seasoning next time. I did not add the water (that the taco season package calls for) just added the seasoning. The recipe doesn't say to add the water and I think it would have made it mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Made a double batch of this for two adults and four kids. One as the recipe states. The second with just the crescent roll dough, meat, and cheese. Both were quite tasty and received well by the whole crew! Tasted good reheated as well. Will be making this one again, it's a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
So I used leftover taco meat from Taco Tuesday. The only thing I added was diced fresh tomatoes. Oh and I totally didn't get the doritos. I thought I was just supposed to be tortilla chips. This is so weirdly good that I will be making it again. Some people complained the crescents were soggy. I over baked them just a bit and then set it out on the counter to "set up". Worked great. No sogginess. On a leftover night try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States