Taco Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Excellent recipe, I did make some changes (just for personal taste). I don't associate green peppers with tacos, so I omit those and put in black olives (sliced). I prefer Hidden valley Ranch, and I used the one with bacon flavor. Instead of beef, I use chicken (healthier), and I usually make this recipe after having one of those already made at the grocery store chickens, I use all the chicken that is left after dinner and throw it in the salad. There are many different ways to do this salad, it's a perfect base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
YUM! I did make some lighter/healthier substitutions. I used fresh gound turkey instead of beef, low sodium taco seasoning, 2% Mexican cheese (not Cheddar), 1 cup (not 1/2 c.) light Catalina dressing, and baked tortilla chips. I also added 1 can sliced jalapenos(drained), 1 can sliced black olives (drained), 1 can black beans (rinsed and drained), and a spritz of lime. This light and healthy dish was packed with plenty of flavor and nutrition. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was so delicious! My husband and I tried different salad dressings and they worked great. The slight warmth of the ground beef and noodles mixed with the cool flavor of the lettuce and tomatoes made this dish delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Spirit River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I made this tonight as a test to see if i wanted to make it for a potluck at work next week. Was great! I did make some changes, i added sliced black olives, used ranch dressing instead of catalina, and about ½ cup salsa. We also crushed up some nacho doritos right before we ate and mixed it in. Was great!! Will definately made again & again. Thanks so much! This is a keeper!!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILVERSMILE
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This pasta salad was delicious! I also added olives. I would recommend cubing the cheese as the shredded cheese clumped together. This salad was tasty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This recipe was awesome!! I'd give it six stars if I could. I took it to a family fish fry, doubled the recipe and it was gone in a flash. I used Kraft Sundried Tomato and Oregano dressing(not fond of Catlina) and Tex Mex cheese instead of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I used whole wheat elbow macaroni, homemade taco seasoning sans salt, omitted the lettuce, and I used 2% sharp cheddar cheese. I didn't have any Catalina salad dressing on hand and was disappointed with the recipes I found using too much sugar or ketchup as a base so I mixed 3/4 cup of homemade salsa and 3/4 cup fat free sour cream with the taco seasoning stirred in as the dressing. Everyone loved it, even me who had a small taste. Next time, I'll make sure to have shredded lettuce on hand to add in. Maybe add some olives. I served this with homemade cornbread which was a great throw-together dinner on a warmish day and quite filling for my three boys. NOTE: My husband thought this was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
All these years of making a pasta salad it never occurred to me to make a Mexican version. I really wanted a cold version since it was a hot night, and so instead of beef we used some leftover roisterer chicken, red and yellow bell pepper instead of green. Also chopped some black olives and avocado. I did spice it up a bit with cumin and a dash red pepper flakes. We used ranch dressing since the dish had tomatoes in it and it complimented very well, kind of cooled down the spicy with each bite. I really don't know if I'd try with the hamburger, don't like warm salads, but with chicken it will be a summer meal made often in my house. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This is freakin' amazing! I just got done making it for a banquet we're having at my school. I omitted the green peppers and onions though. I'm not a huge fan of either. Instead of onions, I put in a tablespoon of onion powder. Delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I like to make a single serving of this for myself for lunch if we have leftover taco meat from the night before. Insead of chopping an onion, green pepper and tomato just for this one salad I cheat and use salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States