Taco Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
absolutely fantabulous!!!!! i tweaked it for sure but i loved the basic idea and just went with it. i added black beans and roasted corn, and subbed taco sauce for the catalina dressing - great way to cut calories and fat, plus it has more of that southwest flavor to it. i could eat this every night for dinner. we crumbled tortilla chips on top, but in the future i will try making homemade tortilla bowls and serving the salad in them. yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I tried to lighten this recipe as much as possible by using Ronzoni whole wheat rotini pasta, 1/2 lb. ground chuck and 1/2 lb. ground turkey, 2% cheddar cheese, and fat-free Catalina dressing. We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Added black beans and corn. Left the rest of the recipe the same. Really good and makes tasty leftovers to fill a tortilla burrito-style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
very easy to make....and yummy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I've been making taco salad for years and I never thought to add pasta. My family & I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I used whole wheat elbow macaroni, homemade taco seasoning sans salt, omitted the lettuce, and I used 2% sharp cheddar cheese. I didn't have any Catalina salad dressing on hand and was disappointed with the recipes I found using too much sugar or ketchup as a base so I mixed 3/4 cup of homemade salsa and 3/4 cup fat free sour cream with the taco seasoning stirred in as the dressing. Everyone loved it, even me who had a small taste. Next time, I'll make sure to have shredded lettuce on hand to add in. Maybe add some olives. I served this with homemade cornbread which was a great throw-together dinner on a warmish day and quite filling for my three boys. NOTE: My husband thought this was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Easy and very tasty! We had a b-day party and were serving walking tacos so this went perfect with the theme! So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I have made this recipe a few times. Overall it is only a three but with a few of my own changes, I have made it a 5 (IMO). I used VE Pueblo Bean Dip mix instead of the pkg of taco seasoning, used tri-color spiral pasta, left out the lettuce, used Kraft Mexican Cheddar, added celery & cucumber (for the kids), used green onion or red (less harsh tasting than a yellow onion), used French Dressing. Served with Doritos Zesty Nacho, sour cream and Salsa on the side. It gets devoured and is even better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great recipe! I have made taco salads for years and never thought to add pasta :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mssyann8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I too made changes. I used a mixture of Pace salsa and mayo instead of the Catalina. I added a tablespoon of El Paso taco mix to the salsa mixture and it was very good. Cubed the cheese as another review said. My version though had only a quarter pound of taco meat and slight also on the lettuce. Took it to the family reunion and listened to everyone remarking on how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States