Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I am rating this on the version that I made. This dip was wonderful, and one friend at the party I brought it to said that I was not allowed to bring the leftovers home. The only things I did differently was to put the sour cream on plain (no taco mix) and I made homemade guacomole that I put on top of the sour cream. So the layers went beans, sour cream, guacomole, salsa, veggies and cheese. I think the homemade guacomole really adds to this dip, and makes the use of the taco packet not really necessary, since you don't want too many competing flavors going on. Thanks for the recipe...I will use it often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This is the best layered dip I've made. Everyone loved it. I did use only 2 cans of beans & would recommend that. Also I added 4oz cream cheese to the sour cream mixture for extra flavor. This is a LARGE recipe, so you might concider cutting it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I made this recipe for my birthday fiesta and it turned out great. I didn't use the lettuce. I used Rosarita vegetarian beans, light sour cream, and taco shredded cheese mix. I think this recipe works best with a chunky, not so saucy salsa. I used Pace Chipotle Thick and Chunky. It was a hit! My husband and I loved it so much, we made it again the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Z

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Whenever I make this dish the pan is always wiped clean. We use a can of Rotel tomatoes, one can of beans, and taco flavored cheese. This takes hardly any time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mercersburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I felt a can of chili without beans added more zest to the recipe than the refried beans.Good Recipe, Cindy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I only used 2 cans of beans and omitted the lettuce. The Taco Dip was a bit hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I make this all the time...and it is always received well. I omit the olives and add tomatoes instead. Also use a mexican blend of shredded cheese instead of just cheddar. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I brought this to a wedding shower and it totally disappeared. Wveryone loved it. It was good because it was meat free and seemed to please the vegetarians present. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I gave this 4 stars because I thought this had great potential. I thought there were too many beans and I only used 2 cans. Next time I make this I will use 1 can of refried beans and double the sourcream and use 3 pks of taco seasoning for added zest. I didn't use salsa at all but put lots of fresh tomatoes lettuce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
The husband and kids inhaled this. I cut this recipe in half and made one extra layer with last night's taco meat (gets rid of leftovers and makes a yummy dip for the boys--win/win!) and I used green onions, reduced fat sour cream, homemade taco seasoning and homemade salsa. Huge hit. When I got back from coffee with the girls, it was gone. This was a snap to assemble in the morning and cover with foil before I left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States