Taco Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This was really good and easy, but I would reccemend beating the cream cheese first and seperately, then adding the sour cream. I just plopped it all together and the cream cheese clumped up into small balls. If you beat it first it will smooth it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
562 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I love this recipe and have been using it forever!!! Everyone raves about it!! I don't use lettuce and green pepper in mine though. I always make sure the cream cheese is very soft and I mix the cream cheese with a beater first, then add the sour cream and a envelope of taco seasoning and some cayenne. On top of the sour cream/cream cheese mixture I layer salsa, taco cheese, tomatoes, and black olives. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I have made this for my kids for years and even now that they're young adults it remains a favorite with them--you just can't get enough of this stuff. I vary this slightly, using only 8 ounces of full-fat sour cream. I also use chopped green onion rather than green pepper. This time I got smart and made a double recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I was excited to see this ,because I tried to submit one similar to this about 7 mo. ago with no luck ,and it is outstanding. I have been making it for years.I never ever come home with any left, people crowd around this dip until it is gone! The only difference with my recipe is I use 8 oz. sour cream(reg)and taco mix. Blend my softened cream cheese mixture with a couple tablespoons of Old El Paso taco sauce. I spread in a pizza pan. Then put some more taco sauce on top of cream cheese layer. I don't measure anything. I do it by judgement but I use only 1 tomato. Top with shredded lettuce, tomato and cheese. I don't use pepper or olives. If you want to kick it up a couple notches, add pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar and add some fresh sliced jalapenos to the top. Whew we is it good!! Daughters friends had it here for the first time and said it was the best dip they ever tasted! I don't toast my nacho chips but I do make sure I have at least 2 bags of them. You can add whatever toppings you like. Note: If you use the taco sauce, the dip will get soggy if left overnight, so make fresh the day you need it. You won't be sorry with this one and so glad Rose got this on here so everyone can enjoy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
This was a huge hit at my party. I added refried beans as the bottom layer. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I made this for a baby shower and it was gone within 1/2 hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Yummy! I use reduced fat cream cheese and on top of that I add a layer of refried beans. I buy taco seasoning in bulk instead of the packages so I use 4 TBS. I buy the shredded lettuce in a bag. The toppings vary according to what I have on hand and the group I am serving. I usually use sliced green onions on top and omit the bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I love this recipe and have made it a million times. I do not add the green peppers because I think it will take away from the taco spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Herheim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: De Forest, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Good Recipe! For a little more flavor, I added 1 can of chili without beans to the sour cream, cream cheese mixture. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
The combination of cream cheese, sour cream and taco seasoning is absolutely the best and what makes this recipe so great. The cream cheese is a little tangy. I used the 1/3 less fat neutrifella cheese, I find it tends to get softer. Honestly, the toppings over this are not even really needed this portion is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States