Taco Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I added a comment and rating - but it did not show up - so hopefully this is not a repetition. This is basically adding a bag of frozen vegetables to a pre=made taco kit. My family rated it as two stars - and gave me suggestions for how to modify it for the future. Was OK - but we didn't really see it as a recipe per se.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
We thought this was a really good, easy taco dinner. I didn't use a boxed taco dinner - but used flour tortillas and 1/4 cup taco seasoning for the meat and veggie mixture. Good amount of veggie to meat ratio (we like a lot of veggies / beans mixed in) and some heat from the peppers, but not too much (I'm a spice wimp!) We fixed ours like we would any other taco - avocado, cheese, sour cream, lettuce, tomato, etc. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I don't know what "1 (11.04 ounce) box taco dinner kit" is - I assume that includes a package of taco seasoning. I cooked the ground beef - drained the grease and then added taco seasoning and the 1/4 cup of water. Cooked that down a bit and then added the bag Birds Eye® Recipe Ready Southwest Blend - which is Corn, Black Beans, Green poblano peppers, red peppers, onions. For us this would lead itself to taco salad or burritos rather than tacos. It does manage to stretch 1 lb of ground beef a long way - it made a lot more than I thought it would. This recipe might be good served over rice for "mexi rice bowls."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was a quick meal, that my family could easily pass on. Too much corn in the vegie mix. I made up my own taco seasoning to taste and used whole wheat flour tortillas. And what ground beef taco doesn't have cheese on it??? So we added cheese, fresh tomato and avocado. I think the left overs will end up as nacho topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
They tasted okay made as recipe calls for, but I added cilantro since I had it here. My family also mentioned that they think it definitely needed tomatoes and cheese. I would say just make tacos or other Mexican dishes the way your family likes them and add this to step it up a bit. Definitely a lot more corn in ratio to other vegetables. I would buy again, but make the recipe my own way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
We really enjoyed this dish. I made it in baked flour tortillas instead of shells. It had just the right amount of heat, too. The mix includes onions, corn, black beans, red bell pepper and poblano peppers. It's especially great for just two people, as I would've spent a lot more on individual cans of vegetables and would have had too much. A very nice Saturday night dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Definitely quick and easy - so if that's what you're looking for, here you go. For my family, this needed more kick. I chose to serve it with a choice of salsas, some fresh chopped cilantro, additional raw onion and guacamole. This way, each of us could choose our own heat/flavor level. I also grilled fresh corn tortillas instead of using the boxed taco dinner kit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I really liked this recipe. The southwest veggies were a nice twist. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angall7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States