Taco Bell® Seasoning Copycat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I needed a good taco seasoning, in a pinch, and had all the ingredients on hand. This is a nice spice mix and does seem to have a flavor reminiscent of Taco Bell. For those that found this to be bland, this recipe is only used to season one pound of meat. With that in mind, you will need to allow the meat/spice mixture to simmer, so the flavors can marry and/or use fresh, better quality spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I made a half recipe to add to a half package of Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing Mix to use in Tortilla Rollups IV from AR. Since I was doing that, I didn't add the flour or beef bullion cubes (I was making for vegetarians). It worked beautifully and added just the right amount of kick to the sauce. I look forward to trying the recipe in tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I had no idea that cumin was the "secret" ingredient in Taco Bell's seasoning! This recipe is fantastic! I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and maybe added a little plain salt, but it was definitely flavorful and did taste like the packaged seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and it was great! My fiance is not a fan of packaged taco seasonings so this was perfect! Kids loved it too! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Thank you! I have a wheat allergy and didn't know the store bought seasoning had wheat flour in it until I ate it and was in a world of pain for days. With this recipe, I could get something close to the taco brand I love while removing the flour that this recipe calls for. I just let the juice simmer down to the consistency that I like. So thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This had good reviews so I thought I would try it. It was easy to put together but the taste was awful. There actually was very little taste. I kept adding chili powder, cumin and even cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Larson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friendship, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This one is a definite keeper. My wife is pretty picky when it comes to seasonings and she absolutely loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This tastes just like the packaged taco seasoning I buy at the store. I think the next time i make it I will triple or quadruple it and put in a tupperware so I have it on hand when I need it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
To get the meat be the correct consistency boil the meat in 1 quart of water first.. works everytime.. then add spices..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was okay. Only change was to use garlic granules instead of garlic salt. I don't know if it was the mix or if it was because I had to use store-bought meat for a change (we have our own) ... or maybe my spices are getting old ... but we really didn't taste much of anything. Ended up throwing some diced jalapeno peppers in to give is some kick. Not bad, just not knock your socks off. Don't really think it tastes like Taco Bell at all. Thanks so much for recipe, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States