Taco Beef and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Pretty good! I made several changes but followed the basic idea: I used around 3 cups of uncooked rotini, no oil, 1 pound of lean ground beef, the taco seasoning, 2 cloves of garlic, half a medium onion - diced, 1 15-ounce can of diced tomatoes, no salsa, more like 3/4 cup of water, the black beans, and around 1 cup of shredded cheddar. Oh, and I omitted the cilantro as my husband despises it. I followed step 1, then for step 2 I browned up the ground beef, then added the diced onion, the chopped garlic, the can of tomatoes, the taco seasoning, and the water. I let the meat mixture cook and thicken up for around five minutes, then mixed in the beans and let them warm for two minutes. I then added the drained rotini and the cheddar, turned the burner off, and let it all warm for a minute or two. We served it with salad, ranch dressing, light sour cream, and shredded cheddar and Mexican blend cheeses. Taco-y, beef-y, and pasta-y, yum! Even our four-year-old enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing, Kayce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
We liked it! Best of all, I had all ingredients on hand, except for cilantro, which we skipped. I used Laura's Lean Beef Top Round, about 1 lb. I had a fajita seasoning mix, which I coated the beef in - it almost gave it a lime-fajita taste, the can of black beans, and I added a bag of steamfresh corn. It was good! And easy! And I didn't have to go to the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This was quick, easy, and tasty. The kids thought that it was too spicy, but I would make it again for my husband and me. We liked shredded cheddar cheese sprinkled on top, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amusjh
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is so easy! I, of course, made some changes, I didn't want to have to go to the store. I used a lb of ground beef and added the taco seasoning to it. I then added 2 cups salsa, 1 can of black beans, 1/2 cup of water and my cooked noodles. I then sprinkled a little bit of cheese on top. It was so easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amusjh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babycoconut
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
l have posted picture on this dish. l made few changes, l cut the amount of salsa and 2 big tomatoes diced to it. I only have kidney beans since l don't have black beans still taste good. l don;t have cilantro handy so l skipped it. And next time l will use ground beef instead of strip beef since l found the funny texture of it. My husband love it he said it's excellent!!!thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babycoconut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I think this dish was very flavorful and everyone that tried it liked it...the one thing I will switch next time is instead of the top round steak, I will probably used ground beef just so it has more of the taco feel...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dumbee cooks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was easy and delicious. I used the chipotle taco mix and topped with a cilantro lime pesto from Whole Foods. A very quick dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was good, but a little spicy for my taste. Instead of just salsa I would use some stewed tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seng-girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Climax, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cavalier, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I was in need of a fun new recipie one night so that I could cook for my boyfriend... This turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTIEPIECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was great, my whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States