Taco Bake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I have a 4 yr old who basically survives on chicken nuggets because he wont try anything else. Tonight he took a big bite and his eyes lit up! Praise the recipe gods for this! We did alter is slightly as we used ground turkey and added cumin to the seasoning. Def putting this in our "dish to pass" category too. Its an awesome base recipe as my husband and I have already started talking about what we can do with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I am making this as we speak. I have made similar recipes, omitting the taco chips and the tortillas since my husband doesn't like the soggy additions....So, I added while cooking on the stove; onions, 1/2 can peeled tomatoes that I cut into quarters, celery, chopped garlic. I then added black olives, tomatoes with juice (instead of water) sour cream and black olives and placed in a rectangular baking dish. I also added cheddar cheese on top with more sliced black olives. I am making this with a side of jasmine rice. It smells great! I added onion and black pepper, taco seasoning and Italian seasoning for spices, also added a splash of Louisiana Hot Sauce for zing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I'm a dad and I make dinner once a week. I've added this to my handful of things I make. I took all the tips from other reviews and I have something everyone likes. Added a can of corn, can of black beans, and a can of black olives. I usually double the recipe and use a can of tomatoes or fresh ones from the garden plus a jar of salsa. We use ground turkey instead of beef. I like to top it off with semi crushed chips sprinkled with cheese and some fresh tomato and black olives for presentation. The chips on the bottom get really soggy, so the fresh chips on top add a nice crunch to this dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cslacko

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This recipe is great... anything with Ro-tel ... haha... My six teenage kids love it.... Take it from me , i used make the whole Taco thing with all the dicing , chopping of 7 ingredients... haha. This is so much simpler on the " chef " ... haha...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richard roper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Absolutely delicious! My very picky daughter wanted 3rd and that never happens! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krmartin25
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Big hit with the family. My 11 year old put it in a soft shell taco. She rated it a "A+ times 1000!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
NO SOGGY BOTTOM! I added chopped onions, salsa, chopped fresh tomatoes (not a whole lot) & taco seasoning to ground turkey. I also added a small amount of sour cream which made the mixture a little creamier. Following the advice of a previous reviewer I used a pack of boil in the bag brown rice and added taco seasoning to that also. I layered the bottom with crushed corn tortilla chips, the rice, re-fried beans, then the meat mixture, then cheese & repeated-2 layers in total. It wasn't in the oven for very long and I was pleased to hear the crunch on the bottom when I put my serving spoon in. It was a tad bit dry so I may add more sour cream to the meat mixture and not completely drain the rice when I make it again. I will definitely be making this again! Only gave 4 out of 5 stars because I'm not sure if this would be considered a COMPLETE meal-maybe add corn on the side?? I still love it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Desperate for something besides just tacos. Didn't have sour cream (don't you hate it when it's the day before you shop for groceries and the cupboard is looking kinda bare???) so, I used cream cheese! Put a couple of flour tortilla's (low carb ones) into a pie plate and commenced to make layers, topped all with a couple more tortilla's and piled on the cheese. We loved it! There's plenty left we can have for lunch tomorrow AFTER we get home with the groceries!! Fast, easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This was very good. I made this to bring to a friends. I increased the servings to 10 which was 2 lbs of ground beef. I added 2 full cans of diced tomatoes & 2 packs of taco mix & increased the water. Not much of a change. I omitted the sour cream because my Husband & I don't like it. Served Tostito scoops on the side. Came our great & everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I wasn't really impressed with this recipe, but because I made a lot of it, I gave the leftovers to my very pregnanat daughter so that she could make a quick dinner for her family, and THEY loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States