Tackee David's Split Pea with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
My grandmother made split pea soup when I was a kid, but I refused to even try it because of the color. . . I grew up. When I make split pea soup, I usually wing it, but I had a ham bone this time and wanted some hints. I soaked my peas overnight and also added carrots and potatoes. Good, basic recipe. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This recipe is amazing. Like others I substituted broth (chicken or vegetable) for the water and added carrots. I use a mix of green and yellow peas. Also I'm a slacker and just cube a pre cooked ham steak and throw it in. I have also varied with spices and it always comes out delicious!!! Honestly I have never had a better split pea soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I have tried lots of pea soups and this is the best! I used yellow split peas (not green) and did not add salt - I think there is enough salt in ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This was really good. We added carrots and potatoes as suggested in the notes and some crumbled bacon when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made it last night. D E L I C I O U S !! Followed the first step but adding: some diced carrots for color, some diced potatoes and some cubed ham besides the meatty bone. Then, trowed in my slow cooker on slow for about 8 hours. Excellent!! Thanks David :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this with a leftover mesquite smoked ham bone with a lot of meat. It turned out fantastic. I did add carrots, fresh garlic and half of the liquid was homemade stock. It was really very good. My only issue was that some of the gristly bits came off the bone into the soup. That is kind of icky. One of the recipes I looked, at prior to choosing this one, suggested making a stock with the ham prior to cooking. That is my game plan next time. I think that should be easier to pick out the unwanted bits. Great recipe, thanks David!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was fabulous....we just made it today...did not have marjoram or thyme so we just substituted italian seasoning. We also used chicken broth instead of water, no celery, used carrots instead....this will be a regular in our house...thank you....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I like this recipe. The soup is hearty but for me needs a bit more flavor. I did forgo the pea boiling/soaking but did make sure to put them in a colander rinsing well and picking through like you would any dried bean etc. Used a very meaty ham bone and went heavy with the S&P to taste. Decided to swap the celery for chopped carrots. Good Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McInerney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I have never made split pea soup before...but love it! This was so.....good..I loved the spices and even added a little more garlic to it...used chicken broth instead of water and some carrots. Wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
We really enjoyed this soup. Peas don't need to be soaked so I skipped that step. It needed a bit more pepper for us & I did add carrots - but that is just personal taste. I would prefer to cook the ham bone separately and then skim the fat off the broth. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States