Tabbouleh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
No!! Dont add that much of Bulgur!!! It must look green not yellow!! Am Lebanese n Tabbouleh is our daily dish :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
One and a half cups of bulgar wheat for 1 cup of parsley and 1/4 of mint is way off. To be authentic, it should be the other way around, 1 cup of prepared bulgar to about 2 cups of chopped parsley and 1/2 to 1 cup of mint, depending on the personal preference for fresh mint (I go for the cup). and when I say prepared, i mean about 1/2 cup dry and then cover it with boiling water and some salt; let it sit for about 15 minutes, then pour if off into a strainer and run cool tap water over it to cool it. Take it by the handfuls and squeeze as much water out as you can and toss the squeezed bulgur into the salad, this will prevent sogginess as your salad will stay light and fluffy. I also prefer regular onion finely minced to the green onions, about 1/8 a cup, or to taste. Lastly, after you chop the parley (which must be Italian flat-leaf), squeeze the water out of that too (and the mint) before adding it to the salad, again to keep the salad from being watery and soggy. Two pounds of tomatoes sound off too; I'd say two medium sized tomatoes are more than enough. Taboulah should be mostly green in color and dotted with bulgur and tomatoes. Fresh lemon, olive oil, salt, and pepper are to taste. When made this way, it is the ultimate salad with kebabs or rice dishes, and soooo healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Very similar to the recipe I grew up eating. Learned to make it from a Lebanese uncle. We use a little more oil and lemon, but the difference in the bulgur. I use 2c. Cover it with water and soak it for 20 min. Drain. The extra oil and lemon make up for the extra liquid. It's best to make it the day before you'll use it, or at least several hours, because the bulgur is still hard immediately after. Why not soften it with the dressing and not the water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folly Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Had to use what I had so I used couscous and spinach and mint but it was delicious yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I tried it, made it as written except used dried parsley instead of fresh, because I didn't have any fresh. I've never tried tabouleh so I have nothing to compare it to. I love it am now making it a regular dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
If you want something great tasting and that is as good as any other recipe for basic Tabbouleh, this is it. I cut the recipe into a third and was able to almost fill a 2 cup plastic container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaydough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I loved the recipe! I added a bit more mint, and a little less lemon. Very easy to make and the right amount for a small crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Very tasty, I used 2 cups of parsley the way they make it at the Jewish restaurant and added a tablespoon of chopped fresh mint, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This recipe called for too much water, otherwise it was good and simple. After the bulgur absorbed as much water as it could, there was still a lot of water left in the bow. I drained it with a strainer. I may try it again and cut down the water to 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
this tabbouleh recipe is okay, but I've since made better. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States