Tabbouleh III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
If you use 1 cup of bulgar wheat, and 1 cup of boiling water, I've found you won't need to drain any excess water from the wheat. All of the water will be soaked up by the wheat and be a wonderful consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I would like to suggest some modifications to this recipe: instead of cucumbers u can chop lemon skin into very tiny cubes, add another cup of very finely chopped parsley,and u don't need to soak the borgol with boiling water just rinse them and soak them with the lemons that you're going to use in the dressing.Most important, garlic shouldn't be used. Try with it on the side fresh cabbages or lettuce. I'm lebanese and that's the lebanese way of preparing it. Hope u like this recipe and Bon Appetit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I have now made this recipe a few times to take to a braai (South African barbeque) and it always goes down very well and it goes very well with grilled meat. I have made it with red and brown onion instead of the spring onion when I have been out of spring onion and I like the red onion best. I have also found that the olive oil should be reduced to 1/4 cup (for my tastes) and that the bulgar should be soaked in less water to save the mess of draining it - about 1 1/4 cups. This also keeps it kinda crunchy and prevents it going soggy. This salad must be well mixed again before serving as the dressing settles to the bottom. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Lastnight was Greek night at our house. How great that every recipe I wanted was on this site! This is particularly good Tabbouleh. I like your version, Katherine. The only thing I did differently was to cut the olive oil to 1/2c (only because everything else on the menu had Oil in it too), added some red onion for color, and added 3/4 cup more parsley. This was sooooo good! Thanks for sharing.Our Greek night was a success because of cooks like you! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
The only regrets my husband had about moving from downtown Chicago was that he would miss our butcher and our favorite Mediterranean restaurant for Tabbouleh. Well I found a new butcher and now (thanks to Katherine), my search for great Tabbouleh is over! In fact, My husband loves this so much, he ran out to buy me a Cuisinart Mini Prep to eliminate the chopping chore and ease his guilt over wanting double batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This was really good and healthy! I soaked the wheat longer than 30 minutes and it soaked up all of the water and there was nothing to drain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Very good recipe, although my husband (who loves tabbouleh) couldn't remember ever having any with bulgar in it. At any rate, he said it was very good; I made Peppy's pitas from this site (excellent) along with Hummus III (the best!!) and this is what I did: I cut the pitas into triangles, lightly toasted them in the oven, and spread each piece ith a bit of hummus and topped with some tabbouleh. Arrange on a platter and garnish with bits of parsley, red pepper, and green onions, and you've got a presentation worthy of any gourmet restaurant. Wonderful recipe Katherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Made this for my husband's birthday (one of his favorite dishes - i just found out). He loved it. Likes to eat it with flat bread. I also used less oil, 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Delicious, refreshing and healthy salad. I think olive oil may be decreased to 1/2 cup. Otherwise, the recipe was perfect, and I did no change. Serves 4 to 6 people as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
For a much healthier version, try using a scant 4 tablespoons of oil. It still tastes delicious and is quite a bit less oily. Also, let the bulgur sit for an hour with about 1 1/8 cup of hot water, it doesn't have to be boiling hot. The bulgur soaks up the water perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States