THE Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I'm wondering if the folks who are finding this salad too dry aren't following the direction to toss it with 3/4 of the dressing, spread the rest over the top edge to edge, then cover tightly and chill at least 4 hours and preferably overnight. The salad is not dry when you do this. The dressing weeps a bit when you follow these directions exactly, and when you stir it up the next day (or after the chill) the dressing is slightly thinner and the salad isn't dry any more. I like this dressing -- don't skip the mustard or hot sauce, they are NOT overwhelming at all and they make the salad -- but I really prefer a pasta salad with a lot of veggies. I made this for a group who really love PROTEIN in their pasta salads, but next time I make it for my family I'll probably try to substitute a lot of veggies for the meat and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Great recipe, the basic sauce is superb and so easy, to play around with. I added mixed veggies to mine (corn and peas) as well as yellow pepper. Used red onions. I didn't have four hours so I just prepared the sauce ahead of time and left in the fridge for about an hour and half, then mixed with pasta (used elbow macaroni) and the other ingredients and popped in the freezer for another half hour. Had to double at the last minute because of unexpected guests. Everyone had seconds, including them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Santiago De Los Caballeros, Santiago, Dominican Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I love this salad. I often change it up, depending on what's on hand, but it's always a hit. The sauce is wonderful, and I always make extra, as I tend to add more veggies(ie.; celery, carrot, bell pepper, tomato, cucumber). I also sub the swiss for cheddar, because no one here will eat swiss. Basically, this is an awesome base recipe to suit any liking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This pasta salad wasn't my favorite. It was good, but I've had better. If I make it again, I would add pickle relish and pimentos. I tried doubling the dressing, but it was still dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiss the cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this for a baby shower...it got good reviews, however I tweeked it a lot b/f I served it. I thought it was very dry so tripled the dressing....used cayenne pepper instead of paprika and new time I'll try cubed swiss cheese instead of shredded b/c the shredded cheese gets lost and is hard to taste. I added lots more shredded cheese to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I liked it, husband didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I thought this salad was great. I will definitely make it in the future, with my own variations of course. I thought it needed more sauce, so I would increase that. Also, my family can't eat pasta salad without adding some vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very good! Tastes like a deviled egg with the combo of hard-boiled egg, mayo, and paprika. I used “Pico Pica” hot sauce and “French’s” yellow mustard, and the flavors were surprisingly good together. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I thought it was very dry, make more of the dressing. As far as the taste, I've had many salads that taste better. It was OK at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Tasty, tangy and easy to assemble! We just had this for a group of 10 friends and it was a hit. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States