THE Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Awesome main dish salad. Changes I made: used penne instead of seashells, cheddar instead of swiss. I cubed the ham and cheese and added some diced sweet onion and salt and pepper. I also added garlic and wish I hadnt as it didnt seem to meld well with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Great recipe, the basic sauce is superb and so easy, to play around with. I added mixed veggies to mine (corn and peas) as well as yellow pepper. Used red onions. I didn't have four hours so I just prepared the sauce ahead of time and left in the fridge for about an hour and half, then mixed with pasta (used elbow macaroni) and the other ingredients and popped in the freezer for another half hour. Had to double at the last minute because of unexpected guests. Everyone had seconds, including them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Santiago De Los Caballeros, Santiago, Dominican Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I thought the flavor was good - mustardy, spicy (I actually used cayenne instead of paprika due to a previous comment), really flavorful. My only issue with this was that it is very heavy. Pasta, mayo, ham, cheese - it really needs some veggies to lighten it up a bit! I didn't feel that the cheese or ham added anything. The mayo was so flavorful that they were just there for texture. Next time, I'll make the dressing, but toss it with a pasta and veggie salad. Maybe tomatoes, broccoli, peppers, even cabbage. It needs something with a taste and texture that will stand up to, and compliment, the pasta & mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I'm wondering if the folks who are finding this salad too dry aren't following the direction to toss it with 3/4 of the dressing, spread the rest over the top edge to edge, then cover tightly and chill at least 4 hours and preferably overnight. The salad is not dry when you do this. The dressing weeps a bit when you follow these directions exactly, and when you stir it up the next day (or after the chill) the dressing is slightly thinner and the salad isn't dry any more. I like this dressing -- don't skip the mustard or hot sauce, they are NOT overwhelming at all and they make the salad -- but I really prefer a pasta salad with a lot of veggies. I made this for a group who really love PROTEIN in their pasta salads, but next time I make it for my family I'll probably try to substitute a lot of veggies for the meat and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I love this salad. I often change it up, depending on what's on hand, but it's always a hit. The sauce is wonderful, and I always make extra, as I tend to add more veggies(ie.; celery, carrot, bell pepper, tomato, cucumber). I also sub the swiss for cheddar, because no one here will eat swiss. Basically, this is an awesome base recipe to suit any liking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This recipe is great!!! The only thing I changed was I doubled the dressing, and instead of green onions, I cut a little bit of red onion very finely and 1 clove of garlic and put it in the dressing and let it sit for an hour in the fridge to blend the flavor before I put the dressing on. I also put salt, pepper and onion powder into the dressing. It was delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I think it's great! I absentmindedly used a full pound of pasta so I'm going to make a little more dressing. I love spicy food so one of the things that turned me onto this salad was the pepper sauce, but I agree with some that it isn't enough. When I first mixed up the dressing (even after 2 tsp) I could just barely sense the zing in it which is good if you are sharing it with people who might be sensitive to that. But once I got the dressing mixed with the pasta I couldn't find the zing at all. So I will definitely add even more hot sauce. I did cube the cheese and I added some little grape tomatoes. I like the flavor and adds a pop of color. But I LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
Really good choice of ingredients.... but the dressing was not that spicy.... kinda bland. I would probably recommend using a different dressing.... Alison's Pasta Salad on this site is awesome. And maybe chunks of cheese, I used shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
It was a hit at the bachelorette pre-party potluck! I made this pasta salad with male member shaped pasta - something I could never get away with if it wasn't all us girls! Everyone loved it. I used very little mayo because it's very thick with the sour cream but very easy to make. I made it again after with elbow pasta and my co-workers loved it at our office potluck. Definitely a potluck hit! JennyLee Herrera
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This recipe was the bomb! My husband loes ham and swiss cheese and he ate this up in 2 days! I loved the dressing! I used cubes of swiss cheese and diced the ham. So different than the usual pasta salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States