THE Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Not a favorite. The family did not like the egg taste. It did not have a good mix of ingredients. We will not be eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Love this recipe! I've made this for bbq's, family reunions, and even an anniversary party. Always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I was expecting this to be a basic, average pasta salad. I chose it because the mayonnaise was cut with sour cream, which I appreciate in any mayonnaise-based salad. I figured I'd "doctor it up." But it turned out surprisingly better than I expected, and I can only think it was because of the hot sauce! Hubs' sensitive innards can't tolerate really HOT hot sauce, but there is one we buy on Beale Street in Memphis that we both love and he tolerates well. I believe it made all the difference in the dressing - that, and the mustard. I didn't add the ham, as I knew Hubs would prefer it in a sandwich, but some cooked, crumbled bacon made a fine and flavorful substitute. I used cubed Cheddar rather than shredded Swiss and liked the color it provided. I only used half the amount of paprika called for and that was a good choice for me. I liked the little bit of warmth in color it gave the salad, but I didn't want to taste it! Finally, so many different-shaped pastas would be appropriate for this, and since I didn't have small seashells I used orecchiette (translates to "little ears"). Oh...I didn't bother with the last part of the directions, pouring only 3/4 of the dressing over the pasta, etc. I just mixed it all in at once. If it dries out a little it will be no problem to moisten it with a little half-and-half or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Had aBBQ, made this for the 1st time. Everyone loveed it. After reading comments I made the following changes: cubed cheddar, cubed ham, chopped celery, cucumber, black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Perfect pasta salad! You can add anything to this and it would be yummy. I didn't have ham so I added tons of veggies and it was delicious. Love the little kick the mustard and hot sauce give it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLENKJOHNSON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
great go to salad for the summer. Accidentally switched the amounts of the mayo and sour cream, so I added a little more mustard and green onions and it was still a hit. Also forgot the ham, but it was still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I loved this pasta salad! I made some small changes, not really changing the original too much. I couldn't find 100% grated Swiss, and I really wanted to use Swiss because it is low in sodium compared to other cheeses,so I used Trader Joe's Swiss/Gruyere blend (yummy!) I doubled the ham to 4 ounces ( I couldn't see using 2 with all the other ingredients! and I used Orecchiette Italian pasta which is the closest I could find to seashell. This pasta sticks easily and I will definitely add oil to the water next time. I didn't even wait the four hours required and ate it right away! It was still delicious and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Yummy! Everyone in my house loved "The Pasta Salad." I used ditalini pasta because that's what I think I see the picture. I used red onion and sharp cheddar because that is what I had in my 'fridge I will make this often. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
And six more stars!!! I just love this salad!!! It is fast, tasty and everyone just loves it!!!!!!! I add carrots and celery just for a crunch but that is all I change. Thank you so very much for posting this fabulous salad!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Great Pasta salad. I only used one salad dressing bottle and it was great like that. I did add more of the vegetables than the recipe called for. Initially I was thinking of doubling the recipe....but since reviewers had mentioned it made a huge batch I didn't. Now I regret it, since unexpected fam stopped by for memorial day and none is left....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States