THE Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Tasty, tangy and easy to assemble! We just had this for a group of 10 friends and it was a hit. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was good. The peas were a bit overpowering though It needed about a recipe and a half of the dressing as it was a little dry. It is very similar to a salad that I LOVE at Souper Salads excpet with corn instead of peas and ribbon pasta instead of shells. I'll modify next time to see if it comes out like the one at Souper Salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Enjoyed very much. I added cubed old cheddar instead of swiss. Also added chopped celery and some cayenne for extra flavor. Very good recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This recipe is great!!! The only thing I changed was I doubled the dressing, and instead of green onions, I cut a little bit of red onion very finely and 1 clove of garlic and put it in the dressing and let it sit for an hour in the fridge to blend the flavor before I put the dressing on. I also put salt, pepper and onion powder into the dressing. It was delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I am pregnant and having cravings. I was looking for a macaroni salad recipe, because it sounded good, although normally I don't like macaroni salad at all. I saw this one, liked the sour cream/mayo dressing idea, and made it with a few changes to suit what I wanted: I used elbow macaroni, omitted the mustard and hot sauce, subbed finely chopped red pepper for the onion and imitation crab meat for the ham. A dash of salt and pepper too. Not only was it exactly what I wanted, but my husband said it was very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stilwell, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I think it's great! I absentmindedly used a full pound of pasta so I'm going to make a little more dressing. I love spicy food so one of the things that turned me onto this salad was the pepper sauce, but I agree with some that it isn't enough. When I first mixed up the dressing (even after 2 tsp) I could just barely sense the zing in it which is good if you are sharing it with people who might be sensitive to that. But once I got the dressing mixed with the pasta I couldn't find the zing at all. So I will definitely add even more hot sauce. I did cube the cheese and I added some little grape tomatoes. I like the flavor and adds a pop of color. But I LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This was a great, quick dish that was ready for our family at the end of a hot day. Very helpful...and didn't have a bunch of veggies that the kids wouldn't eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I thought the flavor was good - mustardy, spicy (I actually used cayenne instead of paprika due to a previous comment), really flavorful. My only issue with this was that it is very heavy. Pasta, mayo, ham, cheese - it really needs some veggies to lighten it up a bit! I didn't feel that the cheese or ham added anything. The mayo was so flavorful that they were just there for texture. Next time, I'll make the dressing, but toss it with a pasta and veggie salad. Maybe tomatoes, broccoli, peppers, even cabbage. It needs something with a taste and texture that will stand up to, and compliment, the pasta & mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
The pasta salad was pretty good. The flavor of the dressing was good but the salad overall was a little dry. I doubled the ham and it still seemed a little short on the meat to me. Seemed like it needed something else to make it all come together - maybe black olives or celery? Couldn't really taste the swiss cheese much either - maybe if you put small chunks in instead of grating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I needed to go diary free, so I omitted the cheese and substituted the sour cream for miracle whip. When served about 2 hours later, it was good, but the next day it was much better. I used 3 green onions though, and the 1st day that was fine, but by the next day it was pretty strong so I'll only use 2 next time. Overall, this was a good recipe and I will use it again, especially with summer coming up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States