T Bird's Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
No suvivors! We made this last year and the jerky was gone in less than a week. The kids took it to school for snack. Actually have some in the oven slow-cooking right now! Such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Perfect! My family said this was the best they'd ever tasted and I agree. Thanks for sharing T Bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this recipe and "Jerky Lover's Jerky" recipe. Followed each one exactly. We did not like this one as the taste was too strong and there was WAY too much powder (onion and garlic) left on the meat. The other recipe was perfect to our taste and the texture was great! If the powder was reduced, it might make a difference but really, the taste was not to our liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I've been making this for a few years now. The first time I followed it to a T. I love worchestershire sauce, but it was overpowering in this recipe. I've since cut it back to 2/3 c. and use 1 1/4 c. Light Soy sauce. I follow everything else as written. Thanks Dewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I've made this many times, with both beef and venison. It's requested often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Made this for dh who is fixin' to deploy here in a few weeks. Will continue to make it until he leaves so he can take quite a bit with him. Thanks so much for sharing, he loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I didn't use the exact ingredients from this recipe for my beef jerky. However, I just used it for tips on making the jerky. My oven does not go down to 150 degrees, so I put it somewhere between warm and 200. TIP!! = hang a thermometer from the oven rack to check and make sure your oven is at the right temperature. It was extremely tricky to get it to the right temperature and I had to make several adjustments. Another tip..I hung my jerky from toothpicks, but the meat kind of curled around itself, so after being in the oven about 2 hours, I realized it wasn't drying out completely, so I took the jerky off the toothpicks and laid them across the oven racks. (With the park that didn't dry facing down). This was extremely important to ensure that all the jerky dried properly! My jerky ended up being a huge success! However, I think I may buy a dehydrator to make it a little less stressful next time! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toohahalarious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Everyone who tried this loved it, and my husband said "this is what jerky is supposed to taste like". It's very tasty, easily customizable (I used Very Very Teriyaki by Soy Vay instead of soy sauce, and buffalo sauce instead of hot pepper, since I didn't have the other ingredients). Great base flavor with a kick. Will use over and over again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
My first time making beef jerky. I followed the recipe quite closely, only leaving out the Italian seasoning and upping the hot sauce. I didn't hang them, I put them on a rack over a sheet pan, and used balls of tin foil to make the rack tilt on an angle to let the juices run off. I did four hours at 170 (lowest my oven goes, for some reason) and they were nowhere near done...did a further 2 1/2 hours at 190. The texture is a bit off...any bits of fat (I did trim, but there's always a bit) are oddly chewy, and the rest varies from crunchy to tough. I think that the marinade requires an acid such as red-wine vinegar or lemon juice to give it a better texture and tang. It isn't bad...but it's not great. If I try again, I'll use more hot sauce and some vinegar...It's a good thing I started early in the morning, or I wouldn't be making the (baked) dinner I had planned. Thanks for sharing. EDIT: After letting them cool, they were MUCH dryer than when I took them out of the oven. I think that the recipe should specify that they might not seem quite done when the time is up, but that taking them out and letting them cool will dry them out further. I suppose if I had been experienced with this sort of recipe I would know that, but I didn't). They are a little too dry now, a combination of my own mistake and unclear directions. Again, thanks anyway. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
excellent. only change i made was add a little bit of honey for a mild sweet side, otherwise i love the garlic and onion taste. this was my second batch of beef jerky and i think this will be a regular for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States