T Bird's Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Great Flavor! I used low salt soy sauce and it was enough salt for me. Yum. My comments: I cut a top round roast lengthwise into two thick pieces. Avoid/remove the fatty or gristly areas (use for soup or stock). Lightly freeze the slabs. Cut along the grain to get the traditional texture - across the grain doesn't work well. Marinate two days for extra flavor saturation. A few times a day, massage and turn the bag to redistribute the marinade evenly. Line the bottom of your oven with foil to catch drips. I don't turn the oven on until I have it all loaded so it's not hot to work with. I also wipe down the door which gets VERY messy before heating. Separate the thin cuts from the thick cuts. Squeegee the marinade off with your fingers to remove excess. String tips of like sizes onto wooden kebab skewers. (I get 10 pieces easily on a skewer.) Then lace them through your oven rack so they all hang down. Alternate sides of the rack so you have them evenly distributed. Place the thinner cuts towerd the front so you can easily remove them when dried. Place a hot pad in the door to hold it slightly open to let the moisture escape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
The best ever! I have made 6 batches of beef jerky now and everyone loves it. I tried the recipe twice with deer and it was great as well. The last batch of deer jerky I added a tablespoon of honey and it made the meat a little more moist and less wild taste for my wife. A+ all the way! I was a great way to use up the rest of the deer meet from the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
No suvivors! We made this last year and the jerky was gone in less than a week. The kids took it to school for snack. Actually have some in the oven slow-cooking right now! Such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Perfect! My family said this was the best they'd ever tasted and I agree. Thanks for sharing T Bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this recipe and "Jerky Lover's Jerky" recipe. Followed each one exactly. We did not like this one as the taste was too strong and there was WAY too much powder (onion and garlic) left on the meat. The other recipe was perfect to our taste and the texture was great! If the powder was reduced, it might make a difference but really, the taste was not to our liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I've been making this for a few years now. The first time I followed it to a T. I love worchestershire sauce, but it was overpowering in this recipe. I've since cut it back to 2/3 c. and use 1 1/4 c. Light Soy sauce. I follow everything else as written. Thanks Dewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I've made this many times, with both beef and venison. It's requested often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Made this for dh who is fixin' to deploy here in a few weeks. Will continue to make it until he leaves so he can take quite a bit with him. Thanks so much for sharing, he loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I didn't use the exact ingredients from this recipe for my beef jerky. However, I just used it for tips on making the jerky. My oven does not go down to 150 degrees, so I put it somewhere between warm and 200. TIP!! = hang a thermometer from the oven rack to check and make sure your oven is at the right temperature. It was extremely tricky to get it to the right temperature and I had to make several adjustments. Another tip..I hung my jerky from toothpicks, but the meat kind of curled around itself, so after being in the oven about 2 hours, I realized it wasn't drying out completely, so I took the jerky off the toothpicks and laid them across the oven racks. (With the park that didn't dry facing down). This was extremely important to ensure that all the jerky dried properly! My jerky ended up being a huge success! However, I think I may buy a dehydrator to make it a little less stressful next time! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toohahalarious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States