T Bird's Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I followed the recipe to a "T" for my 1st batch and it was good. I used venison and after sliceing the meat I rinsed it in tap water to get out as much blood as possible. For my tastes I feel I made some improvements on the following batches. I cut the pinches of salt out and the worcestershire to 3/4 cup and the soy to 3/4 cup and the red pepper to 3/4 t and then I added 2T brown suger, 2T honey, and 1/4 mesquite liquid smoke. I like my version best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Campbellsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Salem, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Very easy to make and everyone loved it. I have some more marinading right now. There are also a lot of good suggestions from other members to add your own special twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I used this recipe with venison and it was very good. Will try it with elk, next. I also used a food dehydrator instead of an oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOMEKEEPER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Great recipe Terry. My kids just ate it up, and I did too. We followed your recipe just as written, next time I think we will cut back a little on the Worcestershire sauce and add more hot sauce. If you have convection bake on your oven use it it works much better at drying out the meat. Thanks Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I'm totally satisfied! I followed all ingredients to a tee, but added a little celery salt and 1 tsp of brown sugar & cayenne 'cuz we're a bunch of daredevils. YEAH! ~that was my husband's sentiments. He, my 2 yr old and myself ate the whole batch last night. I used eye of round steak that had been marked down to practically $0! Also, slicing (across grain) is super easy if the steak is a little frozen. I got it paper thin with no trouble. I'm making more after a store run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onassis75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
T Bird, my husband and I both thank you for this recipe. If I could give it 10 stars I would, it is the best. Have never made anything like this before but it is so simple anyone could do it. Added a touch of liquid smoke just to give it a taste of the outdoors. Husband said I can pack this for his lunch all the time and he would be a happy man. Thanks again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Isaacs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
First -- I quite often wonder why people post a review of a recipe, when they didn't follow the exact directions in the first place!! e.g. “I made this recipe, but substituted the onion salt and hot sauce with ketchup…..... my husband didn't like it... 2 stars.”. That is my biggest complaint with the reviews that exist… those people are only reviewing their own versions, not the recipe someone posted, but I digress. This is a good jerky recipe. I followed it to the ‘T’, and therefore can review it. I didn't give it 5 stars, because I felt it could have eased up on the Worcestershire sauce a bit. I found that flavor overpowering, for the same reason I would never put a steak sauce on a good steak in a decent restaurant: let the flavors stand on their own. So less Worcestershire, and bump up the traditional jerky salt and pepper aspects, and you will likely have a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
378 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Thank you so much for the idea how to make jerky without a dehydrator! I did not use the marinade suggested, already had an easy one that we love. I use one bottle Sunbird teriyaki marinade and 1/2 bottle sunbird teriyaki/honey glaze, and 2 capfuls of liquid smoke, and black pepper! Very good. Also, the butcher suggested I use Carne Asada, wich is already sliced as thin as possible! It worked wonderful and all I had to do was trim off the fat! My stove only goes as low as 200 degrees, so I had it set between warm and 200. Cooked about 4 hours! Next time I will try tbirds recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This is easy and great tasting. I skipped the toothpicks and hung the meat directly over the racks in the oven....that is what the invented self cleaning ovens for! Have made numerous times in little and double batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB1LEEMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States