T Bird's Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
tried this recipe & it came out perfect ! I'm really excited to know I can start experimenting with new flavors now that I have the confidence from this first batch. Thank u very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
this was my first time making jerky. turned out PERFECT on the first try! i only omitted the pepper and hot sauce. you can simply hang it from the oven rack with great results and little cleanup. it is VERY important to cover the bottom rack unless you really enjoy the smell of burning fat and soy sauce. i cut mine into very small pieces so it only took 3 hours in the oven. trust me, it is hard to mess this recipe up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I was not at all impressed by the jerky. The main problem is the Worcestershire sauce. The taste dominates everything else in the recipe, and, to me at least, it is not a taste I expect or like in jerky. I prepared it as per the recipe, but I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
My 14-year old son loves beef jerky and wanted to try making some at home. We made this and it is absolutely amazing. His eyes were so big when he bit into it -- I don't think he expected it to be that good! We did use low-sodium soy sauce, and thought the saltiness level was perfect. We also cooked one batch in the oven and one in our dehydrator so we could compare -- they were equally good, although the dehydrator took much longer. We didnt hang the meet in the oven as directed in the recipe. We just put it on a rack in a roasting pan and turned it periodically. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This had great flavor. I did add a whole can of jalapeno peppers sliced the long way and seeded and added the jalapeno juice to the marinade, omitted the salt and used a dehydrator. This was just the right amount of soy and Worcestershire. I am making another batch because it did not last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I have been through a lot of Jerky recipes and this recipe is definatly at the top of the few recipes that have turned out well. Tenderizing the meat is a great touch and help a graet deal with cooking times, texture after cooked and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Where do I send the reward, Dewy? This stuff is awesome (coming from someone who was never crazy about jerky)! I decided to make venison jerky for the first time and found this recipe and another recipe here (sweet & spicy)--this one was our favorite. Per one of the reviews, I did add a teaspoon of Montreal Steak Seasoning and used a dehydrator. I gave a few samples away, and people who don't like venison really enjoyed this. I can't imagine jerky tasting any better than this--it was perfect. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mancelona, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Flavor = 5 Directions = 3.5 Very tasty stuff. Followed the instructions to the best of my ability: My Instruction tips and clarifications: - Oven only goes down to 170, so started checking at 2.5 hours... pulled half at about 3 hrs. - Aim for slices 1/8 in or less. Made a couple closer to the 1/4 in and ended up with some very tasty jerky chewing gum since I cut with the grain. - Used skewers instead of the toothpicks to hang. Bit easier to load and unload, noticed no influence on cooking around the penetration point. - SORT BY SIZE!!!! I know should have thought of this, but really the size will determine doneness, so i you have varying size slices, group on the skewers accordingly since the smaller/thinner will be done before the thicker pieces. - When is it done? Take a piece out when you think it is where you want it, let it cool on the counter, try your handiwork.... IF it is good pull 'em, if it still needs longer then leave the rest in longer. (try not to eat the whole batch while testing doneness) Again, Easy recipe, wonderful turn out if you watch it. Flavor is really close to classic Pemmican brand Jerky. Next time, I think I might try cutting against the grain (I know blaspheme, but sometime I want the flavor without the sore jaw)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Everyone says it tastes exactly like what you buy in the store. A very good recipe but needs some smoky flavor for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
What a treat...Excellent jerky and very easy to make! My three boys love it. I did have to bake it longer than recipe stated...my oven cooks low and usually takes longer to bake. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States