T Bird's Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I've tried this recipe several times over the last couple of months and it's perfect. I personally don't add the entire teaspoon of hot sauce, barely a half tsp I would guess. For some strange reason it always comes out slightly different, but always good! It barely lasts a few days around here. Just a little sidenote: I dump my marinated meat into a colander and then lay it out on sheets of paper towels before putting it in the oven. This speeds up the drying time without altering the flavor. I didn't do this with my first batch and it molded after the second day (not that there was much left)so I've since done the pre-dry drying and it works a charm. I've even used cheaper clearance meat and made this jerky for my dogs with less salt and no hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Since I bought a food dehydrator a few months ago, this is the ONLY jerky marinade I use. Absolutely fantastic! While on a recent deep-sea fishing trip my four friends raved about the jerky I brought. Because of this recipe, two were convinced to buy a dehydrator, and one has since bought 5 pounds of London Broil for me to make for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I like my jerky to be pretty spicy so I added crushed red pepper and used about 4 tsp. of tabasco chipotle pepper sauce. Everyone at work loved the jerky! Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
turned out like some really thin cooked meat. wasnt too excited. also it cost more than just purchasing the kind i really like. i did follow the recipe and dried in the oven. would be better from the smoker or dehydrator i think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Best recipe I've found. My husband and I started making it a few years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This recipe works perfectly! I didn't have enough worcestershire sauce on hand so I substituted HALF of it with liquid smoke (hickory), which I wanted to add anyway, and it came out great! Other than liquid smoke I followed the recipe exactly. I took it out after 4 hours and it's perfect. Thanks for a great recipe! I will make this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dirtclod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Family says that this is pretty good jerky, although I myself am not a jerky fan. We will make it again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I make this every year with venison.The secret is slicing the meat thin and it helps to have the roast somewhat frozen.I have a gas oven that will only reduce to 170 degrees so this is what I dry it on. I put the meat on cookie sheets sprayed with Pam and turn meat over halfway through drying.It shrinks alot and takes about 10-12 hours to dry totally but it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
awesome........i smoke the meat for 2 hours then dehydrate for 3 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
AWESOME !!!!!! THANK YOU..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States