T Bird's Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Everyone who tried this loved it, and my husband said "this is what jerky is supposed to taste like". It's very tasty, easily customizable (I used Very Very Teriyaki by Soy Vay instead of soy sauce, and buffalo sauce instead of hot pepper, since I didn't have the other ingredients). Great base flavor with a kick. Will use over and over again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
My first time making beef jerky. I followed the recipe quite closely, only leaving out the Italian seasoning and upping the hot sauce. I didn't hang them, I put them on a rack over a sheet pan, and used balls of tin foil to make the rack tilt on an angle to let the juices run off. I did four hours at 170 (lowest my oven goes, for some reason) and they were nowhere near done...did a further 2 1/2 hours at 190. The texture is a bit off...any bits of fat (I did trim, but there's always a bit) are oddly chewy, and the rest varies from crunchy to tough. I think that the marinade requires an acid such as red-wine vinegar or lemon juice to give it a better texture and tang. It isn't bad...but it's not great. If I try again, I'll use more hot sauce and some vinegar...It's a good thing I started early in the morning, or I wouldn't be making the (baked) dinner I had planned. Thanks for sharing. EDIT: After letting them cool, they were MUCH dryer than when I took them out of the oven. I think that the recipe should specify that they might not seem quite done when the time is up, but that taking them out and letting them cool will dry them out further. I suppose if I had been experienced with this sort of recipe I would know that, but I didn't). They are a little too dry now, a combination of my own mistake and unclear directions. Again, thanks anyway. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
excellent. only change i made was add a little bit of honey for a mild sweet side, otherwise i love the garlic and onion taste. this was my second batch of beef jerky and i think this will be a regular for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Hey mysteryman, it messes with real ratings when you fool around with the given recipe and add stuff that obviously will not work. Please don't do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I was afraid to add as much sodium to the meet as the recipe called for... but you couldn't tell once it was done - very tasty. It did take longer to cook than the recipe called for... I had some strips in the oven for 8 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rVaughn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Made the recipe just as stated, and should have doubled it cause they vanished instantly!!! The next batch will have a little more cayenne pepper to suit my taste, but the jerky is great just as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
The flavor was perfect! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great recipe!!!! I did read in one of the reviews where they were concerned about mold on the Jerky... It has to be moisture to cause mold. Duh.... Now wouldn't that tell us that it wasn't dehydrated enough?? You know, give it more oven time so it dries out more.. I'm going to contiue this recipe from now on. Thanks. Gary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My teenage son loves this jerky and it's become a staple for his lunch. Definitely healthier and cheaper than the packaged jerky in the supermarkets. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I only gave it 3 stars. I substituted yogurt and non-fat mayonaise for the other ingredients and cooked it at 550 for 2 hrs becuase I was hungry. Tasted horrible and was overdone. I think I'll stick with slim-jims. [just kidding] ha ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysteryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States