Szechwan Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe directs because I think that's important the first time you're trying a recipe you haven't tasted before. Otherwise your review isn't worth much, in my opinion. Having made it once, I thought it was pretty good but could be improved upon with the addition of water chestnuts and crunchy broccoli. I also used fresh shrimp and sauteed them in a chili oil and sesame oil combination. Really added a nice extra zip. Since we're not huge fans of ginger, I reduced it a titch, maybe half. I chose to serve it over rice noodles (we need to watch carbs) and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
It's delicious, quick and healthy. I agree with the other reviews that you need to double the recipe especially if you add veggies to the mix. I added a bit more honey and loads more chilli flakes and pre-cooked broccoli - served over brown rice. Also fresh ginger is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Delicious!! I omitted the ginger and it was still yummy! Might go lighter on ketchup and heavier on soy next time. Plan to add more heat to it next time as well - add some cayenne and tabasco to give it a kick. :) We served the shrimp over white rice and it was a perfect meal. Very easy to make and full of flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillybean
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This recipe was excellent and very easy. I used uncooked shrimp, as I find cooked shrimp does not have as much flavour. Based on other reviews I doubled the sauce, but I think I would go 1.5 ratio next time. Served over steamed Jasmine rice, with steamed broccoli on the side. Very healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Awesome, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was great. Added mushrooms and plan on adding pineapple chunks next time. Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I liked this recipe. I doubled ingredients (except for the red crushed peppers) and I also used fresh shrimp. Towards the end I added in frozen sweet peas. I served it over hot white rice. Yummy,tasty and best of all you can control the level of spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Easy & yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamibc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Didn't like this at all. I made it exactly as stated and it tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Really nice recipe. As recommended by others, I doubled the sauce, added some fresh ginger (in addition to the ground), and added broccoli and snap peas for some green. After preparing, I added another 1-2Tbs of soy sauce (it was too "ketchupy"), and a spoonful of sugar to fine-tune the sauce. Loved it. But since I think the changes were very necessary, 4 stars. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,689) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States